Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Router and laptop trouble

I have had a Century link DSL Modem Actiontech M1000 for many years now. After receiving a new HP laptop about a year ago I tried to buy the wifi antenna for the top of modem but could not find a place that still sold it. So I got a Netgear WNR 1000v3 with Genie Software about a year ago also. It all worked great till recently something is causing Internet connection to keep going on and off, even when sitting next to router. I cant take laptop out to other rooms any more without loosing connection. It used to show me name's of other wifi's in neighborhood but quit doing that too. Someone at Netgear support forum website told me since it didnt show other wifi's in area the wireless card in laptop could be the culprit. I think this be it>?Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter. I can not believe a card in a laptop goes bad after only 1 year. Of course my HP laptop warranty is up now. I am new to this wifi deal as always just had desktop connected to dsl modem. I wondered if culprit could be the old dsl modem tho since it be the old one, besides me lol, And I will need to save money for a new combo wifi/dsl modem. I have router hooked to dsl modem with Ethernet cord, and I have router placed up high as possible. Any suggestions or ideas on this whole problem greatly appreciated?
    Thank you,Maureen/Mosie
    Last edited by mosie; 2015-07-01 at 20:25.

Thanks
    By googling your adapter, I see that there are many complaints of driver problems with that adapter and they all seem to be the same complaints as yours. Have you checked the HP support site for new drivers for your laptop?
    Drivers seem to be the main culprit.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to lumpy95 For This Useful Post:

mosie (2015-07-02)

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    driver updated but still having probs

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks