Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Service Packs 2 & 3 custom install?

    Is it possible to do a custom-install of SP 2 & 3? Can one pick and choose which items in SP 2 & 3 to install, while discarding the fluff? If so, how is this done?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Sorry, no such thing as a custom install. It is all or nothing.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    The closest you'll get is by stripping the base version of all the extras that you don't need (.NET versions etc.) before upgrading.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    The "fluff" mentioned is most likely all the extras included byt the OEM/Brand, those are not affected by the Service Packs. And you do need SP1 or SP1a before the others. I've seen WinXP CDs marked as having SP1 or SP2 included on them but not SP3. If downloading I go for the Network version of the SP, can set the download for overnight then install from the saved file. There'll still be a bunch of updates after installing the SPs.
    Last edited by Berton; 2015-07-07 at 23:33.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,643
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    XP 64 bit only uses up to SP2 anyway but I don't know if XP CDs contain both architectures and it's the product key that would nail the version, unlike Win 7 which requires separate disks for 32 and 64 bit.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Installing XP required separate CDs for x86 and x64 in any case.

    I am classed as a "system builder" by my suppliers, so can buy Windows OEM install kits (CD/DVD + Product Key).

    As far as I remember OEM install kits for 32bit XP w/ SP3 were available from early 2007 until late 2008. I still have XP SP3 install CDs in my library (x86, not x64).

    Also, when XP SP2 was current and then SP3 was released I slipstreamed SP3 into an SP2 install CD, and installed XP SP3 on several customers PCs after that. Some time afterwards the M$ released XP SP3 OEM CDs became available.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hampshire (the old one)
    Posts
    525
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 72 Times in 62 Posts
    The short answer is no. But...

    Not quite what you were asking, OP, but if you slipstream SP3 onto a new disk using nLite, it does let you customise a lot of features.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to tonyl For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-07-08)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •