Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Backup always full instead of incremental

    OS : Windows Web Server 2008 R2

    I manage 3 identical servers with the same OS and the same configuration.

    One of the servers make full backups every night instead of incremental.

    All three have the exact same backup settings, the other two work perfect.

    3rd server use to make incremental backups, at some point something went wrong.

    I can figure out what is the problem, any ideas ????

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    We need to know what backup software you are using and where you are backing up to?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    557
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    Giannis, there is no such thing as "Windows Web Server 2008 R2". What are you trying to say?

    An educated guess is that you are running Windows Server 2008 R2, for the purpose of web serving. A second educated guess is that your web server software might be Internet Information Server, but then it might just as easily be Apache or nginx.

    As for the backup type, in every system I've ever used, you specify the backup type. If you specify a Full backup you get a Full. If you specify an Incremental, you get Incremental, and if you specify Differential you get a Diff. Backup software doesn't make these sorts of choices, nor does it ignore or interpret user direction.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the response, I am using the default "Windows Server Backup". I get "C:" disk "backup to a volume".
    I am willing to try other backup software.

    OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 + IIS

    Dear BHarder if you read my post I have 3 servers with the same configuration and only the one malfunctions. The configuration is as it should be.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Rules on cross/double posting.
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...-been-modified

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    557
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    The configuration is as it should be.
    I understand that. However something is going wrong anyway, yes? This leaves only 3 possibilities:

    1). The configurations are not, in fact identical and you missed something;
    2). Certain config items cannot and must not be identical. For instance every server ought to have a unique IP address (I'm assuming they are on the same network and not screened from each other by NAT);
    3). You've done everything right but there is a bug or malfunction somewhere.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear Paul,
    I apologize for the rule breaking it was not my intention.
    This is the cross/double posting link:
    https://social.technet.microsoft.com...&prof=required

    I believe my issue is quite strange and rare, please except my apologies, i am going to inform both forums for the cross/double posting.
    So, I request to bend the rules a little bit for this time only in order to resolve this issue, I have have searched available to me books and "google" and i came with no answer to my problem.
    Thank you in frond for help.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dear BHarder,
    1. Configuration is checked by 3 people.
    2. I use "windows server backup" and take backups to local attached disk no network interferes, servers don't communicate with each other.
    2a. servers don't host the exact same services but windows version is the same, they are all created from the same image, they are all fully updated.
    3. full backup works perfect!!! Every night the server for about four hours is taking a full backup.
    Please any other options?
    thank you !!!

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Have you tried making a manual incremental backup on that server?
    Are you sure you have the backup software configured correctly?

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •