Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochester, NY, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Now have w7 sp1 32bit. Would like to have w10 64 bit on new ss drive. Possible?

    Current w7 sp1 full commercial license load is 32bit. Would like to instal w10 as 64bit, and on a solid state drive. I have both w7 32bit and 64bit disks in my orig package. I think I could instal w7 64 bit on the new SS drive as long as the same orig license key will work, and then up grade to w10. What approach would you recommend?
    Last edited by satrow; 2015-07-10 at 01:34. Reason: Removed email, anti-spam measure.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    As it's a new SSD I would swap it for the original disk and do a fresh install of W7 64bit. This keeps you the old one in case of issues and the W10 upgrade should pop up after you have installed all the patches.
    If you want to migrate your settings and data you should be able to use Windows Easy Transfer before removing the original disk.
    Once you are happy with the new installation you can put the old disk in as well and reformat it for whatever use you desire.

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    jmcgrat3 (2015-07-11)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Is the computer a Desktop or a Laptop?
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    jmcgrat3 (2015-07-11)

  6. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    install w7 64 bit on the new SS drive as long as the same orig license key will work, and then up grade to w10.

    Yes, do that ^

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Drew1903 For This Useful Post:

    jmcgrat3 (2015-07-11)

  8. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochester, NY, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Now have w7 sp1 32bit. Would like to have w10 64 bit on new ss drive. Possible?

    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    Is the computer a Desktop or a Laptop?
    Home built desktop (often id's as a Dell).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •