Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    HP Envy PC hard drive power cable add-in

    Just purchased an HP Envy desktop. It has 2 1 TB drives installed as a 2 TB RAID.
    I need to install and additional drive - there is an opne bay, but there are no more power cables!
    Can anyone suggest some sort of splitter device to get power to the additional drive?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    PFeldmann,

    Before adding a splitter device make sure your power supply can handle the extra load! This will require adding up the power draws of each component & motherboard and matching it to the Power Supply output. That said, splitters are easy to find on sites like Amazon.com. You just need to enter the word splitter and then the connector types required for each side (e.g. Molex, SATA, etc.)

    Here's an example on Amazon.com for a molex to molex splitter.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    pfeldmann (2015-07-10)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    And don't forget the SATA data cable from the motherboard to the drive.

    Many of the newer computers can't use a PATA drive, either HDD or ODD, don't have the ports on the motherboard.

    As for RAID, I've not seen it viable for backing up data files which should, at least for a business, go on a drive that can be removed and stored elsewhere.

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pfeldmann View Post
    It has 2 1 TB drives installed as a 2 TB RAID.
    That is not a good idea IMO. A single disk failure may result in loss of data on the entire drive. You would be better off with 2 x 1TB drives and manage the data yourself. (It would be even better with an SSD for C: / Windows.)

    cheers, Paul

  6. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Go one further; Dump the RAID, get an SSD, and move the OS over to it and use the 2TB drives as
    both image and copied data storage.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Isn't that what I said?!?

    cheers, Paul

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •