Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    stopping pre-windows boot app

    Long story but short is how do I stop an app that starts before windows? It has been running for a couple hours and I want to stop it. Tried booting into the safe mode but as you might guess that doesn't work either.

    Thanks.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    The only apps that start before Windows are rootkit viruses.
    What is this app you describe and have you tried terminating it via Task Manager?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    avz.exe that was downloaded from Kaspersky to run. It starts after a reboot.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    You probably need to let it finish its work by letting it run overnight.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I should note that what I said earlier isn't accurate, the Windows logo appears first then blank screen for hours. I assume avz is running.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    You should see lots of disk activity if it's running a scan.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •