Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    New Macrium Reflect Free 6.0-- do I need to make a new boot disk?

    OK, I have been using Macrium Reflect Free for awhile.
    I recently upgraded from version 5 to version 6.


    I currently have an emergency boot disk created with version 5. Every time I run version 6, it requests that I make a boot media. Do I need to do this? Or will my current boot media work fine?


    My guess is it will work fine to boot the computer, but will it load Reflect 6? Is that why I need a new boot CD?

    (Also, should I use a CD or DVD to make a boot media)





    Mel

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Your V5 boot disk should work fine, but there is no downside creating a new V6 one and testing it.
    I would use a CD or USB. DVDs require more precise control to burn and may be less reliable.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    If you are going to make a new boot/recovery disk, I suggest you make it from this latest patched version of Reflect.

    See my post #9 to:

    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...ue-suggestions
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by compiler View Post
    I currently have an emergency boot disk created with version 5. Every time I run version 6, it requests that I make a boot media. Do I need to do this? Or will my current boot media work fine?


    My guess is it will work fine to boot the computer, but will it load Reflect 6? Is that why I need a new boot CD?

    (Also, should I use a CD or DVD to make a boot media)
    I seem to recall reading some time ago that an old boot media may choke on a new image, doing a recovery is NOT the time to be finding out for sure.

    And +1 for USB boot!
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Update:

    I did make new Macrium Free 6.0 boot disks (I have two laptops).
    I also have the boot menu for each computer set up.

    So, I should be good to go.

    So far, I have never had to resort to restoring an image. But...someday...

    Mel

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    FYI
    Common advice is to mount an image for testing integrity.
    For more surety a test restore to a spare disk once in a while in addition.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •