Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Using Developer (Office 2000)

    Hi, I recently got Office 2000 Developer 1.5 but don't have Windows NT. I'm using Win98. Right now I just want to use Office 2000 premium which comes with it. Can I do this without any problems ? I'll eventually get windows NT 4.0 so I can use it all but I'm not a Developer yet. Thanks for any help. I bought the Developer because it cost just a little bit more than premium from where I got it. Thanks again for any help.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Developer (Office 2000)

    no problem - just install the office programs.

    BTW - i thought it worked on win9x, if you want the dev tools. some of the tools may require NT, but the basic ones do not.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Developer (Office 2000)

    Thanks MaryJ. I did'nt know for sure and thought it was best to ask someone with good Office knowledge. <img src=/S/bow.gif border=0 alt=bow width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Developer (Office 2000)

    I believe the only tools that won't run on Windows 9x/ME are Exchange Server (Developer) and SQL Server (Full-Developer). You can still run the MSDE (Microsoft Data Engine) and SQL Enterprise manager on a Windows 9x/ME machine.
    I have also had some issues with the Access Workflow Designer, which requires the SQL OLAP server tools that won't seem to run on Win 9x/ME platforms.

    As far as I know, everything else works like a charm!

    HTH <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Developer (Office 2000)

    You do not need to have Win NT to use Office DEveloper.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Developer (Office 2000)

    That's OK, Mark. I couldn't get the Workflow Designer to run on my NT Workstation either, even with SQL Server Developer installed. It appeared to need something that will only install on a server box.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •