Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Totally fed up with Chrome

Is it just me or are other people as fed up with Chrome as I am.

Apart from what has now become incessant advertising whenever I do a search.

It updates itself and changes itself with no notification so that suddenly items move or change behaviour. A little while ago, for example, it decided to change how it saved bookmarks when you click the star. That lasted for about a week and then changed itself back.

As an accountant, I have to deal on a near daily basis with the gov.uk site. You cannot download ANYTHING with Chrome. If you speak to the helplines, they always warn that you cannot use Chrome.

I tried to download some windows update files and discovered you can't do that with Chrome. My webmail will not touch it either.

The final straw however happened not 30 minutes ago. I have just loaded a notebook with Windows 8.1 and some how with no notice, Chrome has downloaded and installed itself and has even made itself the default browser.

The only contact point is the totally disorganised confusion that is the forum so I am giving up and going to use MS Edge as soon as I can.

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    My wife recently caved in to Google Chrome and accepted it as her browser. Chrome immediately took over her Word files and she could not manage to get through the various screens and work on her documents.

I then went over to her user side and uninstalled any semblance of Google Chrome software. I also hunted up any left over Chrome software thru DOS and deleted Chrome files or moved them to a CD which I labelled as Junk.

I then warned her to reject any new offers from Google Chrome and now everything is running smoothly ... Theodore

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts