Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Getting lots of "Recovery Webpage" notices when surfing Internet

    Hi,

    I am getting a lot of "recovery webpage" notices when surfing the internet. Also, it seems to take forever to go from one internet page to another. What could the problem be? Thanks for any suggestions you can give me.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    What is a "recovery webpage"?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    It's usually a pop up to say there was a problem with the webpage and is being recovered.

    When I get them and if the page doesn't feel right after it has been recovered, I'll usually close IE down and restart it or the laptop.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    May be time to clean out the cache.
    https://kb.wisc.edu/page.php?id=15141

    Might also be worth running "sfc /scannow" from an admin Command Prompt.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    I mostly use IE11 (fully updated) and rarely see "recover webpage" errors on my systems.

    When I see that behaviour on customers' systems it is invariably caused by bad add-ons (AKA "extensions").

    Try running IE with add-ons disabled. If you don't see the "recover webpage" errors with add-ons disabled then you need to go to Control Panel\Internet Options and under the "Programs" tab click on "Manage add-ons" and look at which add-ons are enabled that could be causing the errors.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you for your help. It would be great if the problem I am having is caused by add-ons.

    Have a good one...

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,633
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 646 Times in 590 Posts
    You should also reset to IE defaults

    Tools > Internet Options > Advance Tab > Reset...

    This resolves IE issues caused by a poorly configured browser or changes made by addons/malware.

    HTH,
    Maud

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Another option to consider is to ditch IE for a decent browser. Even Microsoft is going to do it, in their next OS version - here comes Edge, out goes IE. Too much baggage to handled, they said .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    If the latest Build stays pretty much the same IE will still be there, just slightly harder to find in the Apps.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    If the latest Build stays pretty much the same IE will still be there, just slightly harder to find in the Apps.
    Not only the harder to find is telling, but the fact that Edge will be the default, front and center browser is also very telling. Why do you think Microsoft did it?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    557
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    I too get a fair number of crash recoveries. Currently using IE 11.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm also getting way too many. Very slow to load, at times the page just closes, other times recoveries. No it's not infected and the usual methods do not work. I'm been waiting (without holding my breath) for MSC to admit the issue with a fix.

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,633
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 646 Times in 590 Posts
    Try running Internet Explorer in safe mode. If your crashes are resolved then you know it is an add-on, browser helper, or active x that is causing the issue. Start > Search > type "iexplore -extoff" with out the double quotes

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maudibe View Post
    Try running Internet Explorer in safe mode. If your crashes are resolved then you know it is an add-on, browser helper, or active x that is causing the issue. Start > Search > type "iexplore -extoff" with out the double quotes
    Or you could look for the IE icon in System Tools, will open in its own Safe Mode.

  15. #15
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moon1130 View Post
    Hi,

    I am getting a lot of "recovery webpage" notices when surfing the internet. Also, it seems to take forever to go from one internet page to another. What could the problem be? Thanks for any suggestions you can give me.

    One does not have these w/ Edge. Nor "Not responding" "Need to recover page or web site". Nor any wait for sites & pages to load. Nice to be rid of that kind of behavior of IE now, that Edge is here.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •