Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Post Windows 7 Backup not backing up just selected drive

    Hi Guys,

    I decided to have a go at using the Windows native backup/restore application in Windows 7 Ultimate as described in the Windows Secrets newsletter a while back.

    My system disk is a small SSD drive with drive letter C: and this is what I want to routinely backup.

    I have a dedicated backup HDD installed with drive letter B: and I have already successfully made a system image to this backup disk.


    Additionally I have a third HDD which has 3 partitions on it A:, M: and S: used to store general data, media files and a long term storage area for non-volatile data respectively.

    When I try to do a backup and choose to backup JUST drive C:, as opposed to using the "Recommended" option, the backup process starts up BUT I can see it accessing files/folders from drive M: !

    I've tried this twice but each time the backup program is trying to back up files from a drive I have NOT selected for backup.

    Any ideas what I could possibly be doing wrong ?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    Any ideas what I could possibly be doing wrong ?
    using the Windows native backup/restore application in Windows 7
    Zig

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Zig View Post
    Zig
    So you would therefore recommend using what ?

    Did you castigate the Windows Secret author Fred Langa when he suggested that this was the way to go in his article "Build a compete Windows 7 safety net" ? If not why ?

    Cheers,

    Steve

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    I'm not sure if this would be the problem or not but I do remember that A: & B: used to be reserved for floppy drives.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    So you would therefore recommend using what ?
    Macrium, EaseUS, AOMEI all come to mind.

    Zig

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    I'm not sure if this would be the problem or not but I do remember that A: & B: used to be reserved for floppy drives.
    You are correct but I don't think this is the problem simply because it is drive M: that it is wrongly backing up.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    So you would therefore recommend using what ?
    Personally, I use a paid program called CASPER ver. 8 from http://www.fssdev.com/ . It will clone the C: drive ( to which you can add to as needed whenever you want ) or you can make a replacement HDD that has all partitions included and still refresh it as needed. It will only add what is new since the last backup.
    I've been using subsequent versions for years and it has saved me on numerous occasions.
    It's not free but it works.
    Good luck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •