Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Can't turn off Google Safesearch

    Not really sure if this is the right forum ...

    Anyone else having trouble with turning off Google safesearch?

    I have one of 3 PCs at home, on the same LAN, from which Google will not accept a safesearch turn off from any browser (Chrome, Firefox, Opera, IE) I've tried.

    The PC runs Windows 7 Home Premium with SP1.

    I have seen some things on the open net about this, like this being a default for the way my ISP is set up (doesn't explain the 2 PCs that I can toggle safesearch successfully on), or it being the result of connecting to my office's more restricted system (can't toggle it whether I'm logged in or not). It also doesn't seem to be related to the level of the account on Windows that I try to do the change from.

    So I came here to try you folks

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    use duckduckgo instead



    Quote Originally Posted by boobounder View Post
    Not really sure if this is the right forum ...

    Anyone else having trouble with turning off Google safesearch?

    I have one of 3 PCs at home, on the same LAN, from which Google will not accept a safesearch turn off from any browser (Chrome, Firefox, Opera, IE) I've tried.

    The PC runs Windows 7 Home Premium with SP1.

    I have seen some things on the open net about this, like this being a default for the way my ISP is set up (doesn't explain the 2 PCs that I can toggle safesearch successfully on), or it being the result of connecting to my office's more restricted system (can't toggle it whether I'm logged in or not). It also doesn't seem to be related to the level of the account on Windows that I try to do the change from.

    So I came here to try you folks

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    I've moved over to www.duckduckgo.com on a few of my computers and am changing others as I update them.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cornwall UK
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
    Are you saying that you’ve followed the instructions in Google’s help (below) and it doesn’t work?

    https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/510?hl=en Lock or unlock SafeSearch

    If not, it sounds to me that the problem may well relate to some search policy restrictions being imposed by something else on your network.

    Using DuckDuckGo is OK, to an extent, but its search results are not as comprehensive as Google’s. You may find that Firefox’s own Search Page, which is Google based but with much of the targeted junk removed, may not suffer the Google SafeSearch restrictions.

    Frankly, I hate this nanny state stuff and I think it’s far better to teach our kids what is good and what is bad and how to stay safe on-line so that they grow into responsible adults. Do we really want some arrogant corporate with an overblown sense of it’s place in society to decide what we should or should not be doing? Our governments do enough of that stuff without letting the private sector in on the action.

    Sorry, rant over - I’ll get my coat!

    Cheers, Chris
    Remember rule #1: If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

    Industrial electrical engineer, running a system building/repair business in Cornwall UK, for the last 15 years.

    Built my first computer in 1978 - in the days when you had to hand-solder in all the components
    and 16k RAM was considered extravagant!

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Yes, I have followed Google's directions, and I can't get SafeSearch to turn off.

    I thought about the network policy, but this is occurring on a home PC even when all browsers and VPN connections to my employer are closed.

    Google's page accepts the change, and tells me that my preferences have been saved.

    Then with the first offending search, it's turned on again.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger Anak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Central Pa.
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Do you have cookies turned on and accept third-party on this one machine?

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Yes.

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Were you logged in to a Google Account when you made the change? A number of settings are stored in your account (Google News for instance) and you need to be logged in to be able to change or use them. I think Safesearch may be one of them.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

    boobounder (2015-08-16)

  10. #9
    Star Lounger Anak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Central Pa.
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    There's a tip in here: Clear cache and cookies | Google Troubleshooting to try incognito or private browsing before clearing cookies or cache:
    Tip: If web pages aren’t displaying correctly, you can try using your browser’s incognito or “private browsing” mode to see if the problem is caused by something other than cache or cookies.

    Related:
    You may have a corrupt google cookie, try clearing them, and your cache (temporary Internet files). How to Delete Cookies in Windows 7 and Vista

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Anak For This Useful Post:

    boobounder (2015-08-16)

  12. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Calimanco: That's a good idea. I wonder if I create a brand new Google account that's never been linked to my office network whether it will work.

    Anak: another good idea.

    I will check both of these out, and get back to the thread later on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •