Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    same image on 2 computers

    i bought 2 identical computers. i set the first one up with the appropriate software and made an image. i plan to take the 2nd computer and do a system restore with the image i created. what are the negative ramifications? thank you, marcelp

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Marcelp,

    Welcome to the Lounge as a New Poster!

    As long as the computers are IDENTICAL you should have no problems with the possible exception of Software validation. With Windows can change the Key on the second machine to the one supplied with that machine. With other software like MS Office it will fail validation and you'll have to call MS to re-validate. You will probably face this problem with other software that is controlled by validation routines.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-07-28)

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,575
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    You will be in violation of a Windows license if you use the same version of Windows with the same key on more than one PC. If the PCs came with Windows installed then Windows is most likely an OEM version tied to the PC. You will not be able to use the same version from one machine on a different machine.

    Joe

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    After restoring the image to the other computer the OP will have to change the Windows "product key" on one of the computers by going to Control Panel\System as in below screenshot:

    ChangeKey.jpg
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    You will be in violation of a Windows license if you use the same version of Windows with the same key on more than one PC. If the PCs came with Windows installed then Windows is most likely an OEM version tied to the PC. You will not be able to use the same version from one machine on a different machine.
    If the Windows versions are identical and the OP changes the Product Key to match the second computer, there's no violation of the Windows EULA.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-07-28)

  8. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    This is a little "out there", but 2 PC's are not allowed to have the same IP address. This assumes they are on the same network and not screened from each other by NAT, both of which are reasonable assumptions here (presumably).

    The reason this is out there is that this assumes static IP assignment. Most PC's now will use DHCP to get a dynamic IP address. This will handle the requirement for different IP addresses properly. However it is worth keeping in mind the general need for unique IP addresses.

  9. #7
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BHarder View Post
    This is a little "out there", but 2 PC's are not allowed to have the same IP address. This assumes they are on the same network and not screened from each other by NAT, both of which are reasonable assumptions here (presumably).
    If they are on the same (home/work) network, there is a router/switch involved and NAT is being used.

    The reason this is out there is that this assumes static IP assignment. Most PC's now will use DHCP to get a dynamic IP address. This will handle the requirement for different IP addresses properly. However it is worth keeping in mind the general need for unique IP addresses.
    Same scenario. There's a router/switch involved which gets the IP address, not the PC's. Their IP addresses will be (usually) 192.168.X.X through NAT. Not an issue.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •