Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts

    Picasa and Google Earth

    I have both Picasa and Google Earth and I wish to geotag my photos using the link in Picasa to GE. However, it just says that I need to install GE. This seems to be a general problem, and one solution is to revert to an older version of GE. I don't particularly want to do this as the older version has its own issues (though I can get round them). And Windows action centre helpfully tells me there's a newer version of GE.

    Has anyone had this problem and managed to solve it?

    I suppose that expecting two different applications to always work together would be a bit much, perhaps Google (Picasa) needs to liaise with Google (GE) to get it working.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Did you install GE before Picasa or vice versa? Perhaps uninstalling both and reinstalling in a different order will help.

    Joe

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    I installed Picasa first. My impression from Googling the problem is that it's actually the two arms of Google not communicating and the only way to fix it is to revert GE to an earlier version. I was just hoping that someone on here might have an easier solution.

    I have done the reverting on my old PC and that did fix the problem, but have Action Centre telling me that GE is out of date!

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    You can fairly easily try the uninstall and reinstall with the current versions. It seems like there is some sort of registration problem. It is up to you.

    Joe

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Well, nothing ventured, nothing gained - I uninstalled both then reinstalled GE followed by Picasa. No change I'm afraid. I still have the install exe for the previous version of GE - I'll try that again.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Good luck. I'm afraid you are at the mercy of Google.

    Joe

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Good luck. I'm afraid you are at the mercy of Google.

    Joe
    Aaaaarrrggghhhh!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •