Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: A BI Article

  1. #1
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts

    Post A BI Article

    An article found today from Business Insider, ahead of the BIG Day, tomorrow.

    9 Reasons...

    There's lots more than 9, really.

    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    So how would Cortana work on a laptop - do you need to have a mic to talk to it ?

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,723
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Similarly for a desktop - mine doesn't have a mic. Actually I though all (most? many?) laptops have mics built in....

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts

    Cortana

    Well,
    There is a very different view of Cortana, at least in one of the old countries.

    Kind of amusing to read, and IMHO not only for gems like "digital vomit" and "devoid of any IQ < 100 nonsense".

    But seriously, the guy IMHO has a point. As usual YMMV.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    Similarly for a desktop - mine doesn't have a mic. Actually I though all (most? many?) laptops have mics built in....
    I don't think either of my Toshibas has and it isn't listed in the limited on board Diagnostics test.

    Just checked the specs for this one and it says it has an Interface for 1x external mic.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-07-29 at 06:32.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    ...it says it has an Interface for 1x external mic.
    I suspect that means you have to plug a microphone into the external microphone port.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    I suspect that means you have to plug a microphone into the external microphone port.
    Yes, I figured that - just need to buy one and check where I have to plug it in

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You can use Cortana with a keyboard rather than a microphone. There's a Cortana search box on the task bar.

    Jerry

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    Sudo15 (2015-07-29)

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    Thanks for that Jerry.

    I've just bought a second hand mic from a local computer repair shop for 2 so I'll have two means to have a go at Cortana - if I ever get the WUs for Win 10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •