Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 48

Thread: The Big Day

  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

    The Big Day

    Hey Y'all,

    Ok, the big day is here...anyone got the update yet? I've been working my laptop, registered for the update, but nothing yet. How about our mates across the pond where it's afternoon already?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    RG, hello.
    Methinks that you already have it as I. I have not found a way to say for sure. When I use KeyFinder, the OS date has been upgraded to today, the key too. Check yours !
    A "Check for Updates" finds nothing !
    Cortona is working here. All best wishes. Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-07-29 at 08:12.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Jean,

    Yes I have it on my test laptop that's been running Win 10 TP for months, but both my desktop Win 8.1 Pro and main laptop Win 7 HP are still waiting.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @RetiredGeek: Despite announcements online here earlier today that MS has started rolling out updates here (South Africa), Win10 has still not made an appearance (it is now 1457 local time). Eagerly standing by!!
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    MS states the updates will be pushed to those registered over the next few weeks. Does not say how they choose who gets it first.

    I downloaded the ISO file using the Windows flash drive manager to load a bootable copy on a flash drive. Now I just need the product key to upgrade both PCs.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    665
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 24 Posts
    Yes; installed it this morning. Assessment below (and not all pretty).

    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...w-for-my-spiel

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Hey Y'all,

    Yep I'm downloading the ISO on my Desktop as I type. I found it interesting that you have to pick a version to download rather than one ISO fits all.

    @Medico, nice to see you back! How's life in the RV?

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    169
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Medico View Post
    MS states the updates will be pushed to those registered over the next few weeks. Does not say how they choose who gets it first.

    I downloaded the ISO file using the Windows flash drive manager to load a bootable copy on a flash drive. Now I just need the product key to upgrade both PCs.
    Can you please supply a link for doing that, I'd like to follow suit.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Really Microsoft!

    After successfully downloading W10 Pro to a USB key on my Win 8.1 Pro desktop and starting the install I tried to Download W10 Home on my Laptop and got this:
    W10MediaCreation.JPG
    Sure looks like I have a Y: drive (USB) to me but MS sure can't see it.

    And yes I did click the refresh link.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    It gets better...The Windows Media Creation tool errors out when I try to start if from my Win 10 Pro Laptop!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Hey Y'all,

    Ok, Win 10 Pro Installed on my Main PC and it may have a short life there! MS has blown away their own program, MS Money Sunset Edition, you get a message that it needs you to reinstall IE6 to function. I depend on this program for my finances and may well be the killer app that killed WIN 10 on my main machine! BTW: I swear I tested Money in the TP and it worked fine.

    Win 10 has also broken my Virtual Box! It change the adapter names and VB no longer offers RealTech as an option. I've uninstalled & reinstalled VB and still no love. Looks like it's back to Win 8.1 Pro for the desktop!

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    When I check Windows Update History on Windows 8.1, I just found that Upgrade to Windows 10 Pro failed four times yesterday and once today.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    665
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Hey Y'all,

    Ok, Win 10 Pro Installed on my Main PC and it may have a short life there! MS has blown away their own program, MS Money Sunset Edition, you get a message that it needs you to reinstall IE6 to function. I depend on this program for my finances and may well be the killer app that killed WIN 10 on my main machine! BTW: I swear I tested Money in the TP and it worked fine.

    Win 10 has also broken my Virtual Box! It change the adapter names and VB no longer offers RealTech as an option. I've uninstalled & reinstalled VB and still no love. Looks like it's back to Win 8.1 Pro for the desktop!

    HTH
    My VB initially was broke to. Tried repair and it appeared to fix issues, but Win7 VM still had errors. No sound in my XP VM either. Un-installed then re-installed VB and all appears to work, but still no sound in WinXP, Win7, or Ubuntu (assumed prior that no sound in Ubuntu either, but I didn't test this guest until after the re-install). I do suspect (and expect) Oracle will update VB shortly (well I hope so anyway).

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    665
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 24 Posts
    Mine showed failed this morning (just once; had left my computer on all night). I when to the failed update and clicked here and there and got the option to install Win10 and it upgraded (had to do so manually). Don't remember the exact clicks but it was intuitive to me Bruce so sure it will be for you too.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Thank you Macrium Reflect! My Main machine is back on Win 8.1 Pro and all is working fine including MS Money & Virutal Box.

    I finally just downloaded the ISO for Win 10 Home for my laptop and used RUFUS to create the USB key. It's updating now. Since I don't need this laptop for important stuff it will be my second test machine. BTW this laptop is Dual Boot so it will be interesting to see what it does with that!

    Here's hoping Y'all are having a better upgrade experience!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •