Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Reserve Win 10 Option In Windows Update

    I have Win 7 on one SSD and Win 10 on another. (I updated Win 10 to the RTM version without any problem).

    I wish to keep both operating systems. My question is how do I get rid of the "Reserve Win 10" option in Windows Update on Win 7?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    It's actually pretty much harmless but you could use the Customize of the Notification Area and choose either Only show notification or Hide icon and notification. Win10 won't automatically install, have to tell it to start. And it's available until this time next year.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Berton, thanks but the notification doesn't appear in the system tray. I know it's harmless but I find it irritating that the option appears in Windows Update, and I would like to get rid of it.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    It is illegal to run both unless you pay for Windows 10. The Windows 10 upgrade takes over the prior version license.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Joe, I am surprised because nothing in all the newsletters and web sites I went through to find out about Windows 10 said I could not run both, although obviously I believe you.

    For what it's worth when I check Activation in Windows 10 settings it says Windows 10 Pro is activated.

    To make my setup legal should I use my Win 10 Pro DVD to install Win 10 in place of Win 7, and format the existing Win 10 disk, if so will Windows Live Mail be compatible with Win 10? (I prefer WLM to the Win 10 mail app). If so can I uninstall the Win 10 mail app?

    Further advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    nothing in all the newsletters and web sites I went through to find out about Windows 10 said I could not run both
    I agree but then there's been a lot of information on various forums that the Free Upgrade has to be installed from within the running Win7 w/SP1 or Win8.1 and essentially will take over the identification of those versions which means that Product Key is already in use and can't be used for another Windows installation. I don't dual-boot but have seen written that each installation on a computer requires its own Product Key so if using 3 OSes one would need 3 keys and it would apply even if installing the same OS on 2 or more partitions or drives at the same time.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    but have seen written that each installation on a computer requires its own Product Key so if using 3 OSes one would need 3 keys and it would apply even if installing the same OS on 2 or more partitions or drives at the same time.
    It is looking that way, which would make a repair install or reinstall from an ISO problematic.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Thanks for all the replies, but I would appreciate an answer to the following extract from my original post:

    "To make my setup legal should I use my Win 10 Pro DVD to install Win 10 in place of Win 7, and format the existing Win 10 disk, if so will Windows Live Mail be compatible with Win 10? (I prefer WLM to the Win 10 mail app). If so can I uninstall the Win 10 mail app?"

    Please advise.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    As far as the OS goes - YES.

    I don't use WLM so can't answer that other than to say if it runs in Win7 it is likely to run in Win10. You should be able to uninstall any Win10 app.

    Joe

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    It is illegal to run both unless you pay for Windows 10. The Windows 10 upgrade takes over the prior version license.

    Joe
    It depends how royw installed Win10. If it was a technical preview build that was upgraded to the final build 10240 then there should be no problem with running both (see below).

    If I understood the TP deal correctly participants in the TP program were to be rewarded with a licenced copy of Win10 at time of release, and it appears M$ has honoured that.

    Earlier this week I upgraded from build 10162 to 10240.

    W10Pro_System.jpg

    Note that "Windows edition" is "Windows 10 Pro" and under "Windows activation" it shows "Windows is activated".

    However if a Win7 or Win8 installation was upgraded with a Win10 TP build then there would likely be a licence issue.

    I have started a new "Windows 10 Pro Product Key" thread in the Win10 forum:http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...=1#post1013655
    Last edited by Coochin; 2015-07-31 at 21:04. Reason: add link to thread in Win10 forum
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    @Coochin,

    There was no such deal as a free license for anyone AFAIK. Insiders just got to go to the front of the line for the free upgrade. Any upgrade takes over the license of the prior OS. You do NOT end up with two valid licenses. Even though the old OS may continue to run correctly it is still a license violation.

    Joe

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    ...Any upgrade takes over the license of the prior OS. You do NOT end up with two valid licenses. Even though the old OS may continue to run correctly it is still a license violation...
    It seems clear to me you have mistakenly assumed that I upgraded an earlier edition of Windows (Win7 SP1 or Win8.1) with Win10. That is not the case; the Win10 TP build 10162 installation I upgraded to 10240 was a clean install (not an upgrade install).

    To put it another way: there is no connection between my Win10 Pro OS and my other Windows OSs which all have their own unique product keys, none of which match the product key Win10 Pro is using.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    OK. Sorry for my misunderstanding. BTW, Win10 has its own set of new keys. Did you reserve Win10 for any of the old OSes?

    Joe

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    ...Did you reserve Win10 for any of the old OSes?...
    No, I didn't Joe.

    My other OSs are on my laptop (Win7 HP SP1x86, Vista HP SP2x86, and XP Pro SP3), two workbench PCs (one w/ Win7 HP SP1x86 and XP Pro SP3, the other has Vista Ult SP2x86 and XP Pro SP3), and my main Internet PC which has Win7 Pro SP1x64.

    I might remove the XP installations on the laptop and PCs during the next few weeks as these days I rarely need to copy system files from them when working on customers' computers.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    If I understood the TP deal correctly participants in the TP program were to be rewarded with a licenced copy of Win10 at time of release, and it appears M$ has honoured that.
    That is not true from everything I've read. My dual boot Windows 7/Windows 10 TP system is in the same state as yours except now when I boot to Windows I briefly see a "this version of Windows is not valid" message. I suspect that this is because Windows 10 has taken over the license from Windows 7. Windows 7 does still show as activated though. I also did a clean install of Windows 10 TP initially.

    What Gabe Aul did say is that you would be able to upgrade Windows 10 TP to Windows 10 release which is what you and I have experienced but I believe it requires a qualifying OS be present on the PC.

    Jerry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •