Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD, USA
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Errors found by SFC

    This is not a Windows 10 question. Trying to download and install Windows 10 on my laptop, Windows 10 downloads, then, in the configuration process I get to about 95% and it stops and I get a message that it failed. I thought I may have a system problem so I scanned the hard drive for errors--nothing was found. I then ran SFC /scannow. It took about 40 minutes to complete and informed me that there were problems it could not fix. I checked the CBS log and found numerous entries like the following:

    2015-07-31 13:13:04, Info CSI 000001c2 [DIRSD OWNER WARNING] Directory [ml:520{260},l:128{64}]"\??\C:\WINDOWS\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Mo dules\DnsClient" is not owned but specifies SDDL in component Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client-Configuration-WMI-PowerShell, pA = PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE_AMD64 (9), Culture neutral, VersionScope = 1 nonSxS, PublicKeyToken = {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35}, Type neutral, TypeName neutral, PublicKey neutral

    It appears to me that the operative term is "
    is not owned but specifies SDDL in component" and I don't have the faintest idea what that means. I did a search on the internet, including Microsoft, and I can't find anything I can understand. Is this a major problem in my laptop? Does the problem require repair? If yes, how do I make the repair? If anyone has an answer I sure would appreciate the help. Y'all have helped me in the past and I hope you can again. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Try running SFC with "Run as administrator" and disable your A/V while it is running. If that concerns you disconnect from the internet too.

    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    elgercee (2015-08-02)

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD, USA
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks, Joe. I should have stated that I ran SFC in an elevated command prompt. However, I ran it again as you suggested with internet, anti virus and malwarebytes turned off. Same result. I also tried to run diskcheck but it hit 11% and stayed there for about 45 minutes. At that point I canceled it and rebooted. If you have any other thoughts I'd appreciate hearing them. Thanks.

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Which version of Windows are you currently running?

    Joe

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,615
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 872 Times in 834 Posts
    Run chkdsk without any parameters which is a read only mode, but will report corruption and if there are any bad sectors.

    When corruption is found it can take ages for it to complete, but if there are bad sectors a chkdsk /f will hang and you should run a chkdsk /r

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD, USA
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    I should have stated -- Windows 8.1 Pro, 64-bit. Trying to get it ready for Windows 10 (which I think is great.)

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,615
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 872 Times in 834 Posts
    Have you run chkdsk in read-only mode yet ?

    You can also run these Dism commands to check the image https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/.../hh824869.aspx

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    elgercee (2015-08-02)

  10. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD, USA
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Sudo15: Thanks for your help. I went to the Dism site as you suggested. It was all new to me but that hasn't stopped me in the past. I ran a "scan health" and it found errors. I tried to run an image repair but could not make sense of the instructions. I did further search on the internet and found the right, and extremely simple, terminology to effect an image repair: "Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth." I ran this and it fixed everything. When it was done I ran another scan health and nothing was found. I then ran SFC scannow and it found and fixed corrupted stuff. I ran chkdsk and no errors were found. So, my problem is solved. The bad news is that when I was done, Windows 10 downloaded again. I got to the point where I clicked to start the actual installation process--it started and suddenly quit. It's time to go back to the Windows 10 solutions and see if I can find something that works. Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by elgercee; 2015-08-02 at 09:09. Reason: punctuation

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,615
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 872 Times in 834 Posts
    One down - one to go

    Have a look at this article to see if there's anything that will help.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/windows/com...ng_to_install/

  12. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ellicott City, MD, USA
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the referral to the website, but I already have been there. In fact, the information there is what helped me get 10 installed on my home desktop. And, good news -- I guess it was all of the cleanups I did but 10 downloaded and installed on my laptop. It's running well and I am happy. For what it's worth, I love Windows 10. If it weren't for the metro crap I probably would have loved 8.1 as well. The little app "Classic Shell" did a good job of getting rid of metro. Thanks again.

  13. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,615
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 872 Times in 834 Posts
    All done then

    I've gone back to Win 7 for the time being, but beginning to think that this laptop perhaps isn't fully compatible with Win 10 - unfortunately.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •