Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    A bit lame-brained, I am...

    So let me get this right: If I installed the RTM of Windows 10 over a Windows 7 bare install, and it is showing as "Product is activated" when I right-click My Computer, even though there is no product ID# showing, I'm all set and good to go, yes?

    Assuming that, I downloaded and set to boot an ISO of the RTM. But it has no Product ID, so, if I needed to "bare install", I would need to do what?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    You are good to go. You need to do nothing once you have successfully upgraded a machine. If you need to do a clean install just skip the part about a key and Windows will activate online automatically.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Joe, THAT'S cool! How the H--- (no, I said heck) will MS know that I am an Insider Orr previously upgraded user?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    It's frigging magic.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Aren't we the court jester?!

    Well, if I have to come back because it didn't work, I'mma gonna say "Joe told me it was OK!
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2015-07-31 at 22:10.
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I have had software -- and still do -- that, if I were to format the drive or reinstall the O/S, I would have to go back to to company for a new registration number. Wonder why they can't do what MS has (apparently) done with "10"?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    What version of frigging magic should I look for on my daughter's Win-8 laptop? No upgrade offer or notice has been received, I do not believe. Can I just install the RTM version over W-8? Will it then be able to be clean installed as well?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Did you reserve Win10 in that machine?

    Joe

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,075
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    What version of frigging magic should I look for on my daughter's Win-8 laptop? No upgrade offer or notice has been received, I do not believe. Can I just install the RTM version over W-8? Will it then be able to be clean installed as well?

    Chuck
    The first thing I do is check that the computer is running Windows 8.1 to get the free Upgrade, not 8.0. Then I assure Win8.1 is fully up-to-date, run a full antivirus scan and antimalware scan to assure it's clean and check Device Manager to see that no devices are showing a problem. I've done the same with 2 Win7 w/SP1 computers, 1 Desktop and 1 Notebook. I've had a couple of times the GWX icon shows in Notification Area not long after doing updates but have also had it show up 2 or 3 days later, all depending upon when it's connected to the Internet. I'm doing my 5th personal now on a fine little Gateway SFF that came with Win8.1 [probable will sell it later].

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Berton, I think what I will do then with her machine is back it all up, re-install her Windows 8 and then upgrade to 8.1. Then we'll see what happens.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I didn't receive a reservation, Joe. I signed up with Insider and went from there. I'm losing track a bit on this thread, so if I am repeating myself, I apologize: I joined through the Insider program, downloaded the preview, and then on to the RTM. I installed the RTM over a vanilla activated Windows 7, and now it is showing as activated with a P.I.D. Number that is NOT all zeros any longer.

    Is THAT the number I should keep in case of needing a clean install?

    As for my daughter's machine, as I mentioned to Berton here in this post, I am going to start over with her machine, reinstall "8" and then upgrade to 8.1, and then see what happens. I do believe I ran a backup on her machine when I first got it, so maybe I'll be a little lucky.

    As for my granddaughter's, I'm not certain I have a "bare" backup, so then how can I get to that point with her's?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I think, Berton, that I have a backup of my daughter's "base machine" -- and my granddaughter's -- and I'll start from there and follow a version of what you did.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Did I *what* Joe?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Chuck,

    You need to have different threads about different PCs. It is too hard to figure out which you are talking about.

    Joe

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    On any legal Win7 or Win8.1 machine if you do an upgrade and it is activated you don't need to worry about a key. Microsoft will record a device-id for each PC and will use that to reactivate Windows if you do a clean install.

    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •