Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    Windows 10 and Microsoft Money

    The following link states that a number of versions of Microsoft Money ARE compatible with Windows 10 (some Loungers have posted that they cannot get their version of Money to work in Win 10). Versions that are not compatible are also listed


    http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/windo...stRequested=14
    Last edited by petesmst; 2015-08-04 at 06:16.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,761
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by petesmst View Post
    The following link states that a number of versions of Microsoft Money ARE compatible with Windows 10 (some Loungers have posted that they cannot get their version of Money to work in Win 10). Versions that are not compatible are also listed
    Yes, compatible to the extent that they will install correctly. The problem is in actually getting the program to fully launch.

    Money-IE6.PNG

    Click OK and the program closes. And that's all it will do. Compatible, yes. Usable, no.

    In Windows 7 and 8.1 Money will launch and run with IE 11 installed. In Windows 10, setting IE 11 as the default browser has no effect. The requirement for IE 6 is displayed in that dialog box, and that's as far as the program will proceed.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @bbearren: Money 2004 Standard works just fine for me? (Strangely, it did not work with Win 10 TP build 10130, but then "came alive" again).
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    What happens if set the web site to run in Compatibility mode?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Found this in a Microsoft community thread where several people say it fixed their issue. See if the following steps help:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ Internet Explorer]

    Left click on Version, select Modify and enter 9.11.10240.0 in the form field

    Copy original Version number into Note Pad if you ever need to change it back.

    Joe

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    bbearren (2015-08-08),RetiredGeek (2015-08-08)

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,380
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Q for those using Money, can it still connect to financial institutions and brokerages?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    NO! That stopped when MS stopped support and issued the Sunset Edition (which you can still download). HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,380
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    David,

    NO! That stopped when MS stopped support and issued the Sunset Edition (which you can still download). HTH
    Ok Maybe I'll be buying a new Quicken
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    Ok Maybe I'll be buying a new Quicken
    Its a ways off but Costco has Quicken on sale every January.

    Jerry

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,380
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Its a ways off but Costco has Quicken on sale every January.

    Jerry
    There is a possibility that we may get a Costco where I live, every once in a while I hear something. I am guessing not before Jan
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •