Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    windows upgrade looking for serial number

    Well I successfully updated two laptops and one PC (my backup PC) to windows 10. However, when I tried to do the same for my main PC (WIn 7) it asked for the serial number (license key) it didn't accept the win 7 license key and both time I tried it I had to recreate the win 7 OS using aomei backupper. Each computer has its own genuine WIn 7 (or 8) OS - nothing is copied illegally)
    Any idea how to get the window 10 updater to recognise that the win 7 on my main PC is genuine?
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Does your Windows 7 show that it is activated?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    yes it is indeed activated
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    What error message are you getting when your Product Key is not accepted?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It just says that [product key] doesn't work - or something like that - cannot recall the exact wording
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dwsolo View Post
    It just says that [product key] doesn't work - or something like that - cannot recall the exact wording
    If it's rejecting your key, there should be a clickable "Details" somewhere in that dialog box for further information.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    Each OEM seems to have it's own policy for license keys. Dell doesn't require a license key, if you are using the Dell Windows 7 DVD with a Dell computer that came with it installed. HP has a bunch of different OEM Windows 7 install DVDs, and each one is only valid for a discrete set of HP computers. Many OEMs have one License key that they use on all of their computers. There is a valid key that was issued by Microsoft for each computer, but, in the opinion of the OEM, it's too much trouble to put it on each individual computer. That's the License key Microsoft wants. If you have a Certificate of Authenticity on the computer, that one should work.

    If you already tried that one, then Microsoft has screwed up.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Prescott For This Useful Post:

    dwsolo (2015-08-06)

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    seems MS has screwed up ....
    I think I'll stay with WIn7 on my main computer until they've sorted it out
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Are you doing an upgrade install either from Windows 7 Windows update or running Windows 10 from the download iso from within Windows 7? It shouldn't ask for a product key if you have a valid copy of Windows 7. If it does, try leaving it blank.

    If none of that works contact Microsoft here:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/contactus
    Click on services and apps and follow the prompts.

    Jerry

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    dwsolo (2015-08-06)

  12. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi all
    Thanks
    Yes it was from the ISO
    I'll try contacting MS
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  13. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    David, if you run the Upgrade (ISO DVD) from w/in the OS being Upgraded it should not ask for a Key.

    If it's not working thusly call MS @ 1-866-727-2338

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Drew1903 For This Useful Post:

    dwsolo (2015-08-07)

  15. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I came to that conclusion eventually ....
    Just had 2 hours of pointless and frustrating work with MS helpdesk and we all came to that same conclusion
    (curiously the people who work on the MS helpdesk are from different companies and info provided under the reference numbers is not always complete - just for general information
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  16. #13
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    If, as Drew suggested, you are booting from the disk instead of from within Windows it would explain why its asking for the key.
    You can use Magical Jelly Bean Finder free to recover the correct key if necessary and then cross check it with Belarc. When you do get W10 to install, use these programs to make a record of the new key in case you need it in the future.

    https://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

  17. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Loughborough, Leics., UK
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    well the magicaljellybean just confirmed the license key number that I already had.
    What I cannot understand regarding magicaljellybean is why it has to install an unwanted programme (PUP) alongside it - it seems to serve no purpose apart from the requirement to do yet another scan with malwarebytes just to get rid of it.
    Kind regards
    David
    dwsolo

  18. #15
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Its how free software is paid for these days. Almost all the free sites and some of the major players do it. There is a usually a selectable option to reject the PUP so its not installed (but some don't play by the rules), or you can use Unchecky to block most unwanted extras.

    http://unchecky.com/

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

    dwsolo (2015-08-08)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •