Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    NAV-unable to load scanning engine

    The first time this has happened to my Norton Antivirus software. On boot up I get the message " Unable to initialise the virus scanning engine database". The Norton auto-protect icon appears in the tray but has red cross over-written across it. Is this easily corrected? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NAV-unable to load scanning engine

    We've had that problem at work with a number of Windows 2000 installations (and NT I think). The way we worked around it was to remove, and re-install the NAV software.
    Christopher Baldrey

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NAV-unable to load scanning engine

    Try this:
    Norton Support

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NAV-unable to load scanning engine

    Been there, but!!!! Symantec's support staff were fantastic but I still have the problem after twelve months, I will be purchasing a new system in the new year and my Anti Virus checker will not be Symantec. I still have the original Norton Utilities and Commander version 1.0 disks when Symantec cared, now they do exactly what MS has established as a benchmark

    Ted

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    357
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NAV-unable to load scanning engine

    Ok, thank's all for the helpful replies and url's. E_Ogrady, which alternative anti-virus software have you decided to use? I'm also tempted to change, and would like an auto-protect facility and on-line updates. Thanks. Does McAfee do all of of this?

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NAV-unable to load scanning engine

    On re-installing NAV on a Win2kP set up, I was told my free updates had expired (which the program still says) dated Feb 2001. It then proceeded to update my Vdefs etc to 26th December.
    However, on XP, instead of paying for NAV2002, I use AVG which is completely free and bang up to date.

    Click My Sig

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NAV-unable to load scanning engine

    As I stated Symantec Support Staff have been fantastic, yes it has cost me. The problem started with System Works 2000, I upgraded to System Works 2001, alas I carried the problem forward. I then did a manual uninstall of System Works 2001 and purchased a copy of Anti Virus 2002. All this includes a paid service call to Symantec in Sydney. Now I only get the problem following a Live Update. Once I get a clean boot which can take up to an hour my system will boot cleanly until the next live update.

    To answer your question there is a package developed in Australia called VET. It is great but expensive, you have to purchase a new version every 12 months at a cost of approx A$50.00. Being a pensioner a $1 per week impost is significant. If I change I will go to VET but I sincerely hope Symantec get their act in order.

    I have an e-mail from Symantec where the author clearly states that the original install date is encrypted in the registry, if there is a problem with that install (which there was in my case due to a loss of electricity) any uninstall will not remove that information. They will not give out the information to remove that information. Hence my reference to MS.

    The reason for the encryption and the recording of the original date is to prevent the less than honourable users uninstalling the software and then reinstalling to save on an approx $10.00 per year subscription.

    Good Luck

    Ted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •