Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: money plus

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy money plus

    Has anyone been able to get money + to run on w10. When I try to open it, it wants IE6, and IE6 won't work on 64bit. Money is the onley thing that so fare dosn't want to to work. I tryed compatibility but that didn't work. It runs in W7 and 8.1 64bit. I have used this program for years and realy need it to work.
    Last edited by pooroldjim25; 2015-08-08 at 21:36.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jim,

    Welcome to the Lounge as a new poster!

    There are several other threads about this problem. I'm also a Money Sunset Edition user. No one has found a solution yet that I'm aware of.

    You can run it on a Dual booted system (I have it on my laptop W10 & W7) running on the Win 7 Side. I've also successfully run it in a Virtual Box Virtual machine running Win XP. So If you have an old XP disk hanging around hold on to it you may need it. With Virtual Box you can easily set it up to access a Money data file residing in the Win 10 real machine so it gets backed up when you backup your data files. AFAICT that is the way you will have to use it if you don't want to dual boot. You'll need to wait a while though since Virtual Box is having some problems with W10 itself! HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    pooroldjim25 (2015-08-08)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I do have a good copy of xp but I have never used virtual box, but I can learn.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jim,

    Virtual Box is actually pretty easy to use. I first tried it with the Win 10 TP so I wouldn't put my machines at risk. I now have a VM of Win XP, 7 HP, and 10 all running. It's great for testing things out w/o endangering your machine and also great for running that legacy software we've come to rely on! There is an on-line user manual and googling usually turns up a lot of help if you are having a specific problem. Give it a go!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That sounds good to me, I'll try that as soon as they get it working in W10
    Last edited by pooroldjim25; 2015-08-08 at 18:25.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pooroldjim25 View Post
    Has anyone been able to get money + to run on w10. When I try to open it, it wants IE6, and IE6 won't work on 64bit. Money is the onley thing that so fare dosn't want to work to work. I tryed compatibility but that didn't work. It runs in W7 and 8.1 64bit. I have used this program for years and realy need it to work.
    Yes, thanks to JoeP517:
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Found this in a Microsoft community thread where several people say it fixed their issue. See if the following steps help:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ Internet Explorer]

    Left click on Version, select Modify and enter 9.11.10240.0 in the form field

    Copy original Version number into Note Pad if you ever need to change it back.

    Joe
    I made the edit in the registry (it's right-click instead of left-click, Joe), uninstalled Money Plus Sunset and then reinstalled it. and it does indeed work. Double-clicked on my .mny file, it opened Money and asked for my password. I entered my password, and there it was. Opened the register to check, and it's all there, up-to-date and everything. When I closed it, I got the Backup dialog box. It looks fine to me.

    >>> edit I can connect to my credit union, but it hangs if I do it through the Money interface (that started with IE 11). I logon to the credit union, download my account info in .ofx format to my desktop. I then double-click that file, and Money offers to open if I want it to. I click Yes, and Money opens and imports the .ofx file, and I go from there. Just tried it, and it works great, except in Windows 10 it goes to Downloads, but I can still use it from there just by opening the Downloads folder and double-clicking the file. /edit <<<
    Last edited by bbearren; 2015-08-08 at 20:16. Reason: additional info
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    How do I get into the regesty in W10.
    Last edited by pooroldjim25; 2015-08-08 at 20:29.
    Laptop, HP 15T-K100, quad core i7 2.5 GHZ, 8GB DDR3 1600 HD 1TB.

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    I right click the start window, choose run, then enter regedit and hit the enter key

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to lumpy95 For This Useful Post:

    pooroldjim25 (2015-08-08)

  11. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    spelled it round.
    Laptop, HP 15T-K100, quad core i7 2.5 GHZ, 8GB DDR3 1600 HD 1TB.

  12. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It works. thank you very much, you saved me.
    Laptop, HP 15T-K100, quad core i7 2.5 GHZ, 8GB DDR3 1600 HD 1TB.

  13. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    JoeP & bbearren,

    Thanks! Works like a charm. I just did the edit, rebooted, started money...bam! Sorry I missed JoeP's initial post.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  14. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Now it opens then it stops working. I tried to import my bank statement like I always do and it stop working. I uninstalled and reinstalled and that didn't help.
    Laptop, HP 15T-K100, quad core i7 2.5 GHZ, 8GB DDR3 1600 HD 1TB.

  15. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I uninstalled with revo, didn't help. I can't keep it runing.
    Laptop, HP 15T-K100, quad core i7 2.5 GHZ, 8GB DDR3 1600 HD 1TB.

  16. #14
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    I'm running version 17.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  17. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Eureka CA.
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's what I am running to. I went to ms and redownloaded it.
    Last edited by pooroldjim25; 2015-08-08 at 23:55.
    Laptop, HP 15T-K100, quad core i7 2.5 GHZ, 8GB DDR3 1600 HD 1TB.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •