Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    activate the security tab (FP 2000)

    I am creating a sub web that is for members only. I can't get the Tools-security tab to light up. It is ghosted out. I have tried all the page properties of the sub web and the pages, etc and still can't figure out what I am doing wrong. Obviously I am missing something somewhere. Thanks for the help.
    jhampa

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: activate the security tab (FP 2000)

    Are you accessing the web when it is published to a location running FP Server Extensions?
    I believe this is a prerequisite.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: activate the security tab (FP 2000)

    Hi, I am on a DSL line, so connected constantly. The server has the extensions, so I think it is a tab on the page properties or sub web propertes I am missing.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: activate the security tab (FP 2000)

    What OS are you using?

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: activate the security tab (FP 2000)

    FYI
    I found out you have to upload the site, then you log onto the site with FP, then the security tab is lit. YOu have to be online to do the security for FP. Maybe this will help someone else who has this problem
    thanks everyone

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: activate the security tab (FP 2000)

    Something else. When you add users to the secure site, you have to first enter them as full author, admin, then once they are in the system, you can edit them back to browse only. This bug is in FP2000 only.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: activate the security tab (FP 2000)

    Yes I have the problem and will now follow your advice.
    Hope it works for me too - will let you know!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •