Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Browsers with Desktop 2.0 virtual desktop utility

    I'm trying out this utility (see https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...rnals/cc817881), which supports four virtual desktops under Windows 7 and Windows 8. The idea is wonderful, but I've found that I can't run a browser on more than one desktop at a time.

    When I try to start Firefox on a second desktop it gives me the error, "Firefox is already running, but is not responding. The old Firefox process must be closed to open a new window." IE and Chrome don't even do that -- they fail to start with no message at all.

    I can run a different browser on each desktop, but that's not a very workable solution.

    If you've used Desktop 2.0, what has your experience with browsers been? Did you encounter this problem, and did you find a workaround?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jsacks,

    Did you start FF in the second DT by holding down the Shift key while clicking the icon on the Taskbar? Note: I didn't test this but it's worth a try. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I hadn't heard of that trick before. Looked it up. Tried it... unfortunately it didn't work.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    jsacks,

    Funny, it works for me.
    ffvirtualdt.JPG

    HTH

    UPDATE: OOPS! I did this on Win 10 Virtual Desktops while testing I forgot that this was the Windows 7 forum and you were using another product. It ain't easy getting OLD!
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-08-13 at 17:57.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •