Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Windows Firewall On or Off

    I turned off my Trend Micro Security as it was getting in the way of my Navman which I wanted to update, then straight away Windows Firewall turned on ( a window appeared saying Trend Micro Off and Windows Firewall turned on). After a bit of searching I managed to turn it off again but keep getting warnings it is turned off which never happened in WIN8.1.Is this Windows Network Firewall just Windows Defender with a new name. If so I will turn off the "Turn on Firewall notifications " and just relax. Also why does Windows Firewall turn on after I disable my AV now.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Windows Firewall has nothing to do with Defender, it is a block against network based attacks.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Firewall

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2015-08-13)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Trend Micro Internet Security includes its own Personal Firewall: Does Trend Micro Have a Firewall?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2015-08-14)

  6. #4
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Trend Micro Internet Security includes its own Personal Firewall: Does Trend Micro Have a Firewall?
    Ok I found Trend Micro Firewall, I have been clicking on the "Internet and email controls" arrow (in Trendmicro) and nothing ever happened but after reading your link I discovered that clicking on the words will open it. I turned It all on when I set it up 1 year ago so it looks alright. Not sure I understand all those settings so I have turned on the Windows Firewall on as well to make sure it's all good.

  7. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Having two firewalls on at the same time is not a good idea, they may overlap and cause problems or slow your network access. Choose one and stick to it.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #6
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Done ,only one running now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •