Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How do I get a screen res of 960x540 PLEASE?

    OK. My `old` HDTV (Sharp AQUOS LC32P50E) only supports 960x540 res. official from Sharp support. Strange I know but thats the bottom line.

    How can i get my Dell 755 pc to output that screen res? I had a play in Powerstrip but to no avail. My graphics card (Intel q35 chipset) supports res` higher and lower but this option isnt available. Am i in limbo?

    Thanks guys

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    I'm afraid that unless there is a specific driver for the device you are out of luck.

    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by totalnovice View Post
    960x540 ... Am i in limbo?
    Probably. But the good news is you can hook a 960x540 phone up to it!

    Resolutions depend on the video driver and the capability of the monitor, and it's usually a mess if they're not matched. Any hacks I've seen have been to increase max resolution, not provide a specific in-between res.

    It looks like the Dell 755 has integrated graphics? All you can do is update the Win7 driver, but I'm almost certain it won't help.
    ETA: or as Joe said, find a driver for the monitor [unlikely].

    If you have a separate graphics card, upgrade its Win7 driver and have a look in its control panel software. I have a good NVidia card, and it doesn't allow me to pick any old resolution, but rather offers a bunch of stepped resolutions which my monitors support.

    If you search hard enough, you might find some hacks to force the res via software trickery--but it won't be a hardware res so expect some fuzziness or distortion. I used PowerStrip over a decade ago, can't hurt to give it a try.
    Last edited by Lugh; 2015-08-15 at 16:33.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Looks like ive lost this battle but cheers for your help chaps

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    I have a Dell Optiplex 755 with Linux Mint 17.2 installed as the only OS. The lowest resolutions for the onboard video adapter are 1024x768, 832x624 and 800x600. All are 4:3 ratio [width x height]. I used the default install of the OS, didn't go looking for new drivers, presently have it set at 1440x900.
    Last edited by Berton; 2015-08-15 at 19:37.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,487
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 575 Times in 478 Posts
    What you need is the monitor.inf file for your monitor/TV - but Sharp don't have it listed as a download, maybe they didn't expect anyone to use it on a PC?

    Checking my W7 default monitor.inf, Sharp doesn't even have an entry, neither does 960x540.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    This may be a question for http://www.avsforum.com/

    They have a lot of expertise although the focus is on bleeding edge.

    PS if you get an answer post a link, or maybe even if you don't.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •