Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    windows 7 not keeping backup schedule once computer restarted after shutdown

    I run Win7 Pro and Win7 Home on two laptops, each running Windows Backup. A schedule is set to run backup every day at 2 a.m. I normally keep both laptops on 24/7. Frequently I shut down the laptops and unplug everything including monitors, routers, etc when lightning is threatened for the area or for any other reason. When I restart everything, the schedule shows next backup scheduled for 12/30/99 (I know this is 1899!). I click "turn off schedule", and then "turn on schedule" which brings back the originally set schedule for 2 a.m. the next day.
    When clicking "turn off schedule" an error window pops up that says "Windows could not disable the automatic backup job for the following reason: Element not found (0x80070490) Try again." But the schedule is disabled. Then when clicking "turn on schedule" an error windows pops up that says "Windows could not enable the automatic backup job for the following reason: Element not found (0x80070490) Try again." But the schedule IS reset to what it should be.
    If I do not remember to check the schedule settings and turn them off and on, I can go many days without backing up. Is there a way to avoid this, so that scheduler keeps the schedule even though everything was shut down for some time, even if a scheduled backup is skipped when it is shut down?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Can you delete the schedule and re-create it?
    You could attempt to delete it from Task Scheduler instead of backup.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Can you delete the schedule and re-create it?
    You could attempt to delete it from Task Scheduler instead of backup.

    cheers, Paul
    As I mentioned, despite the error message when turning the schedule off, the schedule is turned off, and similarly despite the error message when turning it on, it does turn on.
    I am mostly concerned that the scheduler does not return to the originally programmed schedule after a shut-down, without having to go through the process of turning it off and on.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    That's why I suggested deleting it from Task Scheduler.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Tried this: deleted all tasks in Windows Backup, set up new backup and schedule. Then rebooted ( not shut down, just rebooted), schedule back to 12/30/99.
    Now what?

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    When the schedule has been set, export the schedule key from the registry and re-boot. Compare the registry key with your export.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    When the schedule has been set, export the schedule key from the registry and re-boot. Compare the registry key with your export.

    cheers, Paul
    I don't understand..... please walk me through this.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,377
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    What date does your computer have in time properties?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Not sure what you mean..... the date on both computers is August 17, 2015

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,377
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    just covering all bases
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    To compare the tasks the easy way.
    1. Run Task Scheduler.
    2. Right click on the task you want.
    3. Select Export.
    4. Save it to your Desktop.
    5. Open it in Notepad.
    You can export the task after a re-boot, saving as a different name and comparing.

    cheers, Paul

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    To compare the tasks the easy way.
    1. Run Task Scheduler.
    2. Right click on the task you want.
    3. Select Export.
    4. Save it to your Desktop.
    5. Open it in Notepad.
    You can export the task after a re-boot, saving as a different name and comparing.

    cheers, Paul
    What am I comparing this to?

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    As the schedule is OK until you re-boot you need to compare before re-boot and after.

    cheers, Paul

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    OK, I exported before and after rebooting. After rebooting the schedule was back to 1899. These are from my wife's laptop where the schedule is to run at 11.00pm daily. There was another task there, called Windows Backup Monitor, so I exported this one too. I attach all four of the exported items, without a number being before rebooting, and with a 2 added being the items after rebooting. But can't find the link for attaching files.

    I have only been able to attach the files before the reboot. Will send another message with the other two.

    I have no idea what any of this means.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    here, I hope, are the other two files.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •