Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts

    Windows.Old question

    I upgraded to Win 10 from Win 7 sp1 on 8/4/15 and the upgrade left a huge windows.old folder on my HDD.
    I assume that it's there because MS say's that you can revert to your older system if you don't like Win 10 within a 30 day period.
    My question is, what happens to that folder on my C : drive on 9/4/15? Does Win 10 "Seek and Destroy" or is it just disassociated and I have to delete it myself as a large useless folder?
    Just curious.

    Note: I cloned my Win 7 drive before upgrading to Win 10 so I'm not worried about getting back to Win 7.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Lumpy,

    Use DiskCleanup -> System Files to get rid of it. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Thanks RG and I will when the time comes. It's not hurting anything right now but I was just curious as to it's status after 30 days.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Nothing happens to it until you remove it.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    My question is, what happens to that folder on my C : drive on 9/4/15? Does Win 10 "Seek and Destroy"
    Yes:

    One month after you upgrade to Windows 10, your previous version of Windows will be automatically deleted from your PC. However, if you need to free up disk space, and you’re confident that your files and settings are where you want them to be in Windows 10, you can safely delete it yourself. Keep in mind that you'll be deleting your Windows.old folder, which contains files that give you the option to go back to your previous version of Windows. Deleting your previous version of Windows can’t be undone.
    1.Go to Start, enter Settings in the search box, and then select Settings.
    2.Select System > Storage > This PC and then scroll down the list and select Temporary files.
    3.Under Previous version of Windows, select Delete previous versions and then select Delete.


    Help from Microsoft: Delete your previous version of Windows
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-08-15 at 20:51.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2015-08-15)

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Yes:

    One month after you upgrade to Windows 10, your previous version of Windows will be automatically deleted from your PC. However, if you need to free up disk space, and you’re confident that your files and settings are where you want them to be in Windows 10, you can safely delete it yourself. Keep in mind that you'll be deleting your Windows.old folder, which contains files that give you the option to go back to your previous version of Windows. Deleting your previous version of Windows can’t be undone.
    1.Go to Start, enter Settings in the search box, and then select Settings.
    2.Select System > Storage > This PC and then scroll down the list and select Temporary files.
    3.Under Previous version of Windows, select Delete previous versions and then select Delete.


    Help from Microsoft: Delete your previous version of Windows
    Ahhh, so it does get rid of the folder on it's own ( or it's contents ).
    BTW Bruce, the Bing link you provided just goes to the Bing search page for some reason with no information. Maybe it's because I'm on Chrome.
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2015-08-15 at 19:38. Reason: link

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    664
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 24 Posts
    Thanks; deleting now. No reason to wait a month. Win10 user now I am.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    BTW Bruce, the Bing link you provided just goes to the Bing search page for some reason with no information. Maybe it's because I'm on Chrome.
    No, it was me. Fixed now, I believe. Thanks.

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Guess I'll just wait until 9/4/15 and see what happens. Thanks for the info.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Just confirmation:

    Your previous OS will self-destruct in 30 days.
    Windows 10 PSA: You have 30 Days to Roll Back

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2015-08-17)

  13. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 62 Times in 57 Posts
    You can't roll back but if you have made the recommended image you can always restore (for as long as the image is available to you).

  14. #12
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Just confirmation:

    Your previous OS will self-destruct in 30 days.
    Windows 10 PSA: You have 30 Days to Roll Back
    So if I read that correctly, after 30 days the windows.old folder loses the files necessary to revert to win 7 ( on that win 10 upgraded HDD ). Since I have a cloned HDD with win 7 from before I upgraded, I could switch HDD's to get back to win 7 if I so choose.
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2015-08-17 at 10:21. Reason: clarity

  15. #13
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    It took 4 days longer than a month but this is what's left of the windows.old file. It was 24.6 GB and now it is 287 MB.

    Windows_old remains.JPG

    Update:
    As of 9/23/15 the windows.old folder is completely gone from the laptop.
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2015-09-23 at 17:59. Reason: update

  16. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Bruce, one question after your statement :

    >>> Your previous OS will self-destruct in 30 days.
    Windows 10 PSA: You have 30 Days to Roll Back <<<

    How can they erase my clone ? All best wishes. Jean.

  17. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    820
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 62 Times in 57 Posts

    Dr. Livingstone, I presume

    Does this mean that I am the only gentleman-adventurer who actually explored the ruddy thing? No wonder I had no occasion to use or hear hear that famous greeting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •