Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Malware or bug or what?

    lost wifi on winxpprosp3

    futzed around and got it working again

    now pc is very slow
    my screen saver has turned to all black instead of shooting stars
    and when i wiggle the mouse to get the display back
    there is a black rectangle with rounded corners
    in the middle of and over top of the display briefly
    before i get the main screen

    the box contains the word d-sub

    i am using tenda usb 11n wireless adapter model w311
    to connect to a cox cable modem

    any suggestions appreciated

    also is it possible someone got into the pc via the tenda
    or the cox box.

    i thought they were secure but now i am not so sure

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Run chkdsk in case it's a disk problem.
    What does you AV say?
    Is anything using lots of CPU in Task Manager?
    Is it slow when disconnected from the internet?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    ...the box contains the word d-sub...
    Check the connection between the PC and the monitor, "d-sub" (d-subminiature) usually means the type of display connector: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D-subminiature and http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/articl...-sub_adc_more/
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,407
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 405 Times in 377 Posts
    Does the problem occur when you are surfing the web, or at all times?

    If it's only when you are surfing the web, try disabling Flash in your browser.

    Perhaps it's time to do a wipe and full reinstall of your OS. That can work wonders.

    This is not a criticism, but I notice you are running XP. The longer you continue with XP, the less secure you are. Also, the older your OS, the less compatible it becomes over time as things move forward. There could be an issue with XP, or with your hardware if it is old.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    thanks

    but rotflmao

    the TOS for win10/8 says
    all your data are belong to us




    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Does the problem occur when you are surfing the web, or at all times?

    If it's only when you are surfing the web, try disabling Flash in your browser.

    Perhaps it's time to do a wipe and full reinstall of your OS. That can work wonders.

    This is not a criticism, but I notice you are running XP. The longer you continue with XP, the less secure you are. Also, the older your OS, the less compatible it becomes over time as things move forward. There could be an issue with XP, or with your hardware if it is old.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    problem partially solved

    something (who how why?)
    set my monitor to turn off after x minutes

    i always keep everything on all the time and ban going to sleep etc

    not sure how it got changed
    but after changing that to never
    the screen saver works again

    as to wifi
    things are slow which may be the web site i am using as others are not as bad
    andor
    it may be that cox is actually making me share my bandwidth with others in the building and when they are doing massive file transfers my surfing speed has to go way down

    as to the win 8 problem with wifi posted there i think that had to do with updates either to win 8 or by cox to their cable modem

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,407
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 405 Times in 377 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    it may be that cox is actually making me share my bandwidth with others in the building and when they are doing massive file transfers my surfing speed has to go way down
    With Cox, you DO share your bandwidth with other users in the same building / neighborhood. That's how cable internet works.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    With Cox, you DO share your bandwidth with other users in the same building / neighborhood. That's how cable internet works
    Generally true but not in all cases. It isn't true if you buy your own Modem/router (and save some money on your internet rate) and you can opt out with Comcast if you rent from them. Of course the default for Comcast rentals is WiFI sharing.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,407
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 405 Times in 377 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Generally true but not in all cases. It isn't true if you buy your own Modem/router (and save some money on your internet rate) and you can opt out with Comcast if you rent from them. Of course the default for Comcast rentals is WiFI sharing.

    Jerry
    Jerry:

    What I mean is, Cox shares bandwidth among the customers in an area, because it is cable internet, as opposed to DSL.

    Is that not true? That's what I've ALWAYS been told.

    Jim

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    OK. I see what you mean now. Its true there is sharing at some point in the infrastructure but at least with my experience with Comcast, it hasn't resulted in any slowdowns even at peak times. The only issue I've ever seen is when they deliberately throttled Netflix. Now that Netflix is paying a toll to Comcast, I never see any issues. I can't speak for Cox.

    What I thought you were referring to is the practice of Comcast and I presume other cable companies of using their rental modem/routers to set up a free Wi Fi hotspot that is available to any other Comcast internet customer.

    I do see more complaints from my customers on DSL though.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    any suggestions appreciated
    Whenever something goes on the blink, think Groundhog Day, system restore to a point before the problem developed is usually successful 90% or more of the time and when not, can fairly often help distinguish between what type of problem it is, hardware, software, user account, etc.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Slowdown could be Cox sharing. BUT I would suspect wifi sharing more...people/equipment on the same channel as you interfering.

    Plug into your Ethernet connection. If the speed goes up then the problem is with wifi at some point, not Cox. If it stays essentially the same then it's Cox, and I would suspect too many people on the same connection doing high capacity stuff.
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-08-19 at 18:10.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    my gui says i am on a different channel

    i suspect that we have a lot of people who are heavy users sharing the actual lbandwidth that cox allocates to cable use vs tv and phone and other services they sell

    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    Slowdown could be Cox sharing. BUT I would suspect wifi sharing more...people/equipment on the same channel as you interfering.

    Plug into your Ethernet connection. If the speed goes up then the problem is with wifi at some point, not Cox. If it stays essentially the same then it's Cox, and I would suspect too many people on the same connection doing high capacity stuff.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    yes

    i knew that i shared it

    but apparently they overhype your speed
    as i paid for 50Mbps

    but frequently get 10-11Mbps

    and often down to 1Mbps

    the day in question i was getting constant failures
    disconnected
    lost ip address
    yada yada

    now maybe that day they were updating the cox software
    or maybe that was the day when everyone skyped while downloading a movie and uploading to utoob at the same time


    at this moment i am getting 33-49Mbps

    i can only see 5 users
    and i think one is in a different building which might have its own dedicated cable back to cox
    at least i hope so

    if all the 15 or so apt buildings on the block shared one cox cable there is no way it could work right

    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    With Cox, you DO share your bandwidth with other users in the same building / neighborhood. That's how cable internet works.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,377
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Check your AV and firewall mine cuts back 90% of bandwidth!! Comodo!
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •