Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Number pad on keyboard doesn't work

    Running Windows 7, Home. 64 bit. Had to reinstall the Operating system because the main HD went out. Installation was successful and everything worked as it should - except - the number pad on the keyboard does not work. The number lock shows as being on, I swapped keyboards, no error messages, Device manager says everything is working. I've run out of ideas. Sure could use some new ideas. Incidentally, this is a wired keyboard.
    Last edited by artov10; 2015-08-16 at 21:03.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    If your computer has PS/2 ports, and if you have a PS/2 keyboard handy, I'd try that.

    If you don't have a PS/2 keyboard, but you do have PS/2 ports, then you could try the following, to make a USB keyboard work in a PS/2 port:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812200349 -- for keyboard
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2015-08-18 at 11:35.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have a PS/2 keyboard but with all the adapters I have, don't have a PS/2 to USB adapter. I have tried the keyboard in the front USB ports, the back USB ports and in a hub (where it was when it last worked).

    Thanks for the suggestion. When I get an adapter, I'll give it another try.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Do you have an Fn key? If so, hold the “Fn” key down, then press the Number Lock key to toggle the numeric keypad on or off.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hampshire (the old one)
    Posts
    525
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 72 Times in 62 Posts
    It's easy to forget these days that PS2 devices aren't hot-swappable, so bear that in mind. Also, if you're going to use an adaptor for any length of time, an inline adapter (example) puts less strain on the motherboard. As opposed to the weight of a block-type adaptor, plus the existing connector, plus the cable, all sticking some distance out in space.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by artov10 View Post
    Have a PS/2 keyboard but with all the adapters I have, don't have a PS/2 to USB adapter. I have tried the keyboard in the front USB ports, the back USB ports and in a hub (where it was when it last worked).

    Thanks for the suggestion. When I get an adapter, I'll give it another try.
    It sounds like you don't have native PS/2 ports on your computer. If you don't have native, built-in PS/2 ports on the computer, then my suggestion won't work.

    You could get a PS/2 controller card; but be aware that most of the PS/2 controller cards simply convert from USB to PS/2; in other words, they don't provide true motherboard-level PS/2 ports.

    My product suggestion above has an error: the one which plugs into a USB port, and provides PS/2 ports for the keyboard and the mouse, won't work here. I didn't think about it at the time, but I now realize that it won't work for the solution I am suggesting.

    Some laptop docking stations provide native PS/2 ports.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2015-08-18 at 11:33.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, no function key. Thanks for the suggestion.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,367
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Me thinks this must be a software problem. Does the number keypad work as up/down keys" How about in BIOS? If so try reinstalling keyboard driver. Delete keyboard in Device manager and let it find the keyboard again. Try latest manufacturers driver software as a second choice.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have a new keyboard - wireless. It has a Function key but toggling the number lock holding down the Fn key has no effect. (Other than changing from Number Lock ON and OFF. ) Also tried removing the driver for the keyboard. Found the keyboard again but same problem. The new keyboard has its own driver which installed. Same problem with the new keyboard. With the number lock OFF, the number keys work with their alternate functions (Home, Pg Up, etc). I must agree with Wavy - it seems to be a software problem or some setting that I have set wrong. I've tried every setting I can find - but probably have missed the one I need ! Appreciate all the suggestions and am willing to try almost anything.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Artov,

    What Brand/Model is the Computer?
    What Brand/Model is the Keyboard?

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The computer is a home brew. It has an Intel mother board, Intel i7, 2700k,quad core, 3.5 GHz,8 MB cache, 16 GB memory, running Windows Home 7, Premium, with a 2 TB Hybrid drive, (one recently replaced). The keyboard is a Logitech Wireless, K750.
    This is the new keyboard. The old one was a Dell, wired standard keyboard. The keyboard worked before I reinstalled the OS. Need any other info, let me know.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    You said in post #1 that number lock shows as being on. But does that keyboard have an indicator light for number lock? Reviews say it doesn't.

    EDIT: I guess it's not on the keyboard itself, but via an on-screen notification if you have Logitech SetPoint software installed:

    K750 Num Lock and Caps Lock indicators
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-08-19 at 08:44.

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There is a screen notification that indicates whether the number lock is on or off. Previous keyboard had a light on the keyboard.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,367
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Ok just to cover all bases, what happens in bios. Try to enter a time setting perhaps.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Some BIO still have a numlock "on" setting. See if altering it changes anything, if present.

    So does Windows:
    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/numloc...up-windows-7-8

    Otherwise I am perplexed since it has to be the PC or OS as two keyboards show the same behavior. Neither is recognizing the numlock key on the keyboard. None of the above should block the keyboard's numlock key from working.
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-08-19 at 20:24.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •