Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    insider build 10525 available

    New build is available for Windows Insiders on Fast Ring.

    Joe

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    What does Fast Ring mean?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2015-08-18)

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    JoeP, greetings.

    Getting it just now.
    I do not seem to be getting automatic updates, yes, I am on Fast ring. I keep checking every day and then I get the updates but I have to initialize the process....normal ???
    All best wishes. Jean.

  6. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cmptrgy View Post
    What does Fast Ring mean?
    If you are a "Windows Insider", and you are in the fast ring, then you will get beta versions of new builds, such as 10525.

    If you are not a "Windows Insider", or you are a "Windows Insider", but you are not in the fast ring, then you will not be offered beta builds.

  7. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    I have updated my virtual machine with Classic Start to build 10525.

    When it came up after the last restart, Classic Start popped up a message that asked me if I wanted Classic Start reconfigured. I clicked OK, and it reconfigured itself, and now it's installed just fine.

    So, no, you don't have to uninstall it and reinstall it every time Microsoft updates Windows 10.

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    This last WU has removed my Old Calculator. A struggle to get it back but back it is.
    All best wishes. Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-08-19 at 09:48.

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    JoeP, greetings again.

    I went to Settings and initialized the D/L, it carried out sans the smallest itch. What a great OS. All best wishes. Jean.

  10. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Earlier my Win10 PC upgraded from 10240 to 10525. No installation errors but screen resolution is 1280x1024 instead of 1920x1080 (BenQ 23.6inch 16:9 screen). AMD Radeon HD3870 PCIe VGA card.

    About ten days ago in build 10240 Windows Update installed an "updated" display driver which had the same problem; max. resolution 1280x1024. In that case I was able to roll back to the previous driver in Device Manager.

    But in this new build the "Roll Back Driver" button is greyed out. I could restore the image of 10240 I made before the upgrade, but really don't want to go back just for one annoyance.

    Have reported the problem via the Feedback app & will wait-and-see.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  11. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Prescott View Post
    I have updated my virtual machine with Classic Start to build 10525.

    When it came up after the last restart, Classic Start popped up a message that asked me if I wanted Classic Start reconfigured. I clicked OK, and it reconfigured itself, and now it's installed just fine.

    So, no, you don't have to uninstall it and reinstall it every time Microsoft updates Windows 10.
    Same here for Stardock's Start10. So far, no issues with this build.

    Rich

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello.

    Did you guys notice that this is not a Pro version but an Evaluation version ? We are still and again Insiders. Runs fine so far. I too had to reset resolution ( Coochin ).

    I was able to get Old Calculator back on both my resident machines.

    All best wishes. Jean.

  13. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Mine says "Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview" on the desktop watermark and This PC properties. The desktop also has "Evaluation copy. Build 10525" on a separate line.

    Joe

  14. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Exactly what I also saw, Joe P. Great minds ?
    Does this mean that we are to get another 2 hour install to Pro ?

    All best wishes. Jean.

  15. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Joe & Jean,

    I think this means that you, as I, have chosen to stay in the Windows Insider Program.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  16. #15
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    In regard to mention of Build 10525 as being available to Insiders...


    10525 is not official, it's leaked. Internally MS was on 10520 & are just now going to 10527. Insiders may well, receive 10527, soon... although, what MS is on internally & what Insiders see are not always the same or @ the same time.

    I will go to my Insider Build & see what, if anything, is available today. MS never pushed 10525 out to Insiders, @ least, not yet & if MS is now on 10527, it's doubtful Insiders will ever see 10525.
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2015-08-19 at 16:22.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •