Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question upgrade win7 pro to win10 home

    I have a pc running win7 pro with 2gb memory and would like to upgrade to win10; however, win10 detects something less than 2gb memory. That is below the minimum required for win10 pro. Is there a way to upgrade to win10 home (which requires 1gb memory) from the win7 pro installation? If so, how?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Home or Pro makes no difference for RAM. 32-bit or 64-bit does: Windows 10 System Requirements

    (I've been running Windows 10 Pro with 1GB for 10 months, but only 32-bit not 64-bit.)
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-08-20 at 15:04.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    The upgrade process tried to go to a like SKU - so home to home or pro to pro. It does not downgrade SKUs.

    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I was not clear in my initial query. I am running Win 8.1 64bit and trying to upgrade to Win 10 - the problem is Win 10 detects the 2gb memory as something less than 2gb and will not allow the upgrade. I had assumed it was due to the requirement of Win 10 Pro, but it is because of the requirements of 64 bit. Is there a way I can upgrade to Win 10 Home or Pro from a <2gb Win 8.1 64 bit system? If I could get Win 10 to register the free upgrade, I could then do a clean install of a 32bit version, but I do not see a path to do that.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you have a 2GB system that is being reported as less than 2GB sounds like you have a hardware problem. Have you run any memory tests?

    Joe

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware, US
    Posts
    1,161
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 99 Times in 88 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by arth View Post
    I have a pc running win7 pro with 2gb memory and would like to upgrade to win10;
    I may be in the minority, but I can't see any particular advantage to you in this upgrade. Why not just leave it on Win7 until the PC is near death then get a new computer with Win10 on it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •