Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger Glitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Warwick, NY USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    No Room for Windows.old - Upgrade fails - ideas?

    Even after Microsoft says you're "Good to Go" with your Win 10 upgrade, [only] early in the install it adds another requirement for 5 GB of free disk space. I'm assuming this is for the temporary "roll back" file.

    Well, I don't have a spare 5 Gigs.

    I have a HP Mini that I wanted to use for a Win 10 GUI test look, all "tests" showed it was OK. However, it only has a 15 Gb hard drive, with 13.5 Gb occupied by the Windows folder. I've reclaimed all the space I think I can (DiskMgr), including clearing the old update info in Windowsxs, and even compressed the drive. All extra apps have been uninstalled with a 3rd party uninstaller to clear out any leftover bits, and defragged/cleared under the chicken soup protocol. All that got me was another 765Mb.

    Any ideas on how to get the installer to skip the rollback file? Perhaps something like the old time command line switches?

    Otherwise, I'll just reinstall Win7 and return the Netbook to service as my internet radio tuner.

    .../G

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Can you attach an external drive?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Make an image of the old OS, then clean install the new one.
    I remain doubtful that a 15GB drive will be sufficient though.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    AFAIK Win10 needs at least 35GB. No way W10 will install on 15GB - sorry. Maybe you could plug in a SD card or large-capacity (64GB+) USB stick and use "ready boost"? Dunno, but might work.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  5. #5
    New Lounger Glitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Warwick, NY USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    The consensus that the drive will never be large enough appears to be correct. Despite the wizards and advisors all indicating that the HP "meets the requirements", it does not.

    It was worth a shot, but as I indicated, I chose the HP as I only wanted to evaluate the GUI before upgrading my other computers, it's not worth much more effort.

    Thanks All.

    .../G

  6. #6
    New Lounger Glitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Warwick, NY USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Can you attach an external drive?

    Joe
    Tried that but there doesn't seem to be a way to get the install program to recognize/use it before it quits on error.

    .../G

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    I'm not sure that Microsoft has finalized its plans for upgrades on low capacity devices:

    We’re working on bringing upgrade to low capacity devices ... we are evaluating a couple of options for a safe and reliable upgrade path for those devices.

    http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwin...act-footprint/ (March 2015)

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    Glitch (2015-08-22)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •