Star Lounger

Visual Basic and Visual Studio Community 2015

Posting this in the spirit of Microsoft's open source efforts. About Visual Basic in the Visual Studio Community 2015. BTW, in the following, no paid time was involved.

My interest was to renew my exposure to the Visual Basic environment. Last visit was Visual Basic for Excel in Win 95 around 2001.

Now I'm looking at Visual Basic in Visual Studio Community 2015.

Prior to the install, at, found 26 video lessons on Visual Basic [1]. The Visual Basic videos are based in the Visual Studio Express 2013 for Desktop.

I agree with the title "Visual Basic Fundamentals for Absolute Beginners".

Up through lesson 23, it's all small-piece console apps. In lesson 24, on event handlers, is the first time I remember seeing GUI objects, ala Windows Presentation Framework. In lesson 25, on My.Namespace, is the first time I remember seeing reading in a file.

Edit 2015-08-22 - I was mistaken. In Lesson 12 "While Iterations and Reading Data from a Text File", one reads in a text file. Lesson learned here - Beware of your history. I am interested in reading in and writing out text files. The first post was after I been through the 26 lessons in two days, and I was completely ignorant of the clearly stated lesson title, and my experience of the video. Whether fatigue or elder fart bias, please excuse the oversight.

I am now roughing it, and going through the lessons again, in reverse order.
    Edit 2015-08-2 end

I think it was worth my time. It's was a good introduction to a contemporary Visual Studio Visual Basic IDE.

I did not download and install Visual Studio until after watching all 26 videos. After a short search, and a mention of Visual Studio Community 2015 [2]. I decided on Visual Studio Community 2015 [3], and did a custom install [4]. I have an inexpensive $300 May 2013 laptop running Win 8.1 Pro Update.

System requirements for Visual Studio Community 2015 and Visual Studio Community 2013 with Update 5 [4].