Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    modern setup host

    I have downloaded Windows 10 onto a USB and installed from it onto my wife's laptop and a desktop withouth any trouble BUT when I tried to install on my HP Pavillion laptop all seemed to be fine but when I arrived at the point where it said Checkng you are ready to install another window popped up sayhing Modern Setup Host has stopped working and closed the program. Has anyone any ideas about this and how i can get round it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 650 Times in 573 Posts
    You may be able to restart it from where it stopped by running C:\$Windows.~WS\Sources\Windows\sources\setupprep. exe

    Could be caused by low disk space: http://www.mysysadmintips.com/window...0-tech-preview

    Requirement is 20GB free disk space for 64-bit or 16GB free for 32-bit.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the suggeston but I'm afraid running C: \$Windows etc didn't work. the installaton just shut down. It isn't due to lack of disc space as there is over 300GB of space on my C drive.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    @ norrum

    Other WSL members have reported having similar problems. Usually fixed by running Tweaking.com Windows Repair: http://www.tweaking.com/content/page...ll_in_one.html

    Have a read through this thread: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...s-10-upgraders
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, I thought Tweaking.com might sort the problem but no luck there either. I also tried using the Microsoft help system and had a chat with a technician but he got nowhere and to be honest I don't think he really understood the problem. He finally suggested I should phone Microsoft and if all else fails I will try that but not yet.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If you have reserved a Win10 upgrade for the PC in question you may just want to wait a while. There are still a number of systems for which the upgrade is problematic. Microsoft is fixing compatibility issues.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •