Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Euless, TX
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    External Monitor Reverts To Laptop Resoultion (Cold Start Or Wake-Up)

    This just started with Windows 10. My ViewSonic VX1962vm monitor, probably 5 years old, shows the laptop resolution instead of the monitor resolution, with the screen also showing on the laptop as well, every time the laptop wakes up from lid-down as well as cold start. Yes I go to Display Settings, select "Show only on 2" and make that "Make this my main display". Every time. I also checked the ViewSonic website for updated and it shows my monitor as being up to date.

    OK, what setting am I missing?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    CT,

    Have you checked the manufacturer of the Laptop or Video in the LT for software to drive/control dual monitors? HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Euless, TX
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Um not following. This an HP laptop about 16 months old that started life as a Windows 8 machine. All was well with Windows 8 and 8.1 with this monitor. Could you expand a little? Thanks...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    CT,

    I have a ATI Radeon HD 7500 graphics card in my main machine and I use the Catalyst Control Center software to manage my dual monitor setup.

    So are you using a laptop with integrated graphics or does it have a separate graphics card? If it's a separate card you may be able to get software from it's manufacturer that will do a better job that Windows at keeping your desired settings. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Euless, TX
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No separate graphics card. Just an off-the-shelf HP Pavilion laptop.

    Things are still weird. If I Shut Down, Restart, Hibernate, Sleep from the Power options in the Start menu, all come up to Monitor 2. But if I close/reopen the lid, only the laptop screen shows, Monitor 1. Hmmm...

    (Been fighting other issues - some MS Updates decided to install themselves today, leading to no recognition of wireless Internet. Normally there are a dozen or so secured connections showing, as I'm in a high-rise condo. I backed out the last KB and I got wireless Internet back. Sigh...)
    Last edited by CanTex; 2015-08-23 at 17:46.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •