Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win 10 error with Exe files

    I recently installed Win 10, on my Win 7 64 bit Home Edition Gateway computer (not my primary computer).
    Everything seemed to go well. I used a ISO burned DVD Home Edition from my main computer to install it.

    I tried to install my Bitdefender AV software (apparently the 10 install deleted it).
    I got this notice: File system error (-1073741819). I did try as admin. No go.

    Today I tried to update my Ashampoo Office 2012, as notified, same notice, if I can't install Exe files I'm in trouble.

    I guess what I need to know, can this be fixed, or can I go back to my Win 7 Home Edition?

    Thanks for any help, RGSmith
    Computer Specs:
    Windows 7 Pro 64 -Bit
    1000W Silent Fan Power Supply
    Asus Z87-Pro MotherB
    4th Gen. Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Chip
    Crucial 32GB DDR3 Memory
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video
    3 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 64MB HHD's
    Super Multi Blu-ray Burner
    24X DL 8.5GB DVD Burner

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Check system file integrity by running sfc /scannow from an elevated Command Prompt.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    RG (not RetiredGeek) ,

    When you ran the installers did you "Run as Administrator"? I don't know about the office suite but many AV programs need admin permissions to install. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RG (not RetiredGeek) ,

    When you ran the installers did you "Run as Administrator"? I don't know about the office suite but many AV programs need admin permissions to install. HTH
    Hi Retired Geek, yes I did run as Administrator, didn't make any difference.
    Thanks, RGSmith
    Computer Specs:
    Windows 7 Pro 64 -Bit
    1000W Silent Fan Power Supply
    Asus Z87-Pro MotherB
    4th Gen. Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Chip
    Crucial 32GB DDR3 Memory
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video
    3 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 64MB HHD's
    Super Multi Blu-ray Burner
    24X DL 8.5GB DVD Burner

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    Check system file integrity by running sfc /scannow from an elevated Command Prompt.
    Hi bbearren, I'm so ignorant, I really don't even know what all that means.
    Thanks, RGSmith
    Computer Specs:
    Windows 7 Pro 64 -Bit
    1000W Silent Fan Power Supply
    Asus Z87-Pro MotherB
    4th Gen. Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Chip
    Crucial 32GB DDR3 Memory
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video
    3 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 64MB HHD's
    Super Multi Blu-ray Burner
    24X DL 8.5GB DVD Burner

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    This article should help with that http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...c-695b60477a93

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone, I am just going to roll back to Win 7.
    All the best RGSmith.
    Computer Specs:
    Windows 7 Pro 64 -Bit
    1000W Silent Fan Power Supply
    Asus Z87-Pro MotherB
    4th Gen. Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Chip
    Crucial 32GB DDR3 Memory
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video
    3 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 64MB HHD's
    Super Multi Blu-ray Burner
    24X DL 8.5GB DVD Burner

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 871 Times in 833 Posts
    Why not just run the sfc /scannow to see what it reports ?

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks everyone, I have rolled back to Win 7, and I think every thing is OK now.
    Thanks again for your help, RGSmith
    Computer Specs:
    Windows 7 Pro 64 -Bit
    1000W Silent Fan Power Supply
    Asus Z87-Pro MotherB
    4th Gen. Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Chip
    Crucial 32GB DDR3 Memory
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video
    3 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 64MB HHD's
    Super Multi Blu-ray Burner
    24X DL 8.5GB DVD Burner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •