Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Lunas, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question IE 11 not working in Windows 10

    I made some registry changes to try to get Microsoft Money Plus to work in Windows 10. Now IE 11 isn't working. If IE is no longer supported by Microsoft, then is it important. Microsoft Money still isn't working even with the fixes explained on Microsoft Support. I can uninstall Money Plus but have no idea how to repair the registry that affected IE.
    May you be blessed today,

    Karen

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    If you backed up the registry keys/values before you edited them, you can restore that backup. If not, running sfc /scannow in an elevated Command Prompt might work. If you revisit the MS Support site, it might have the keys shown in their original values, and you could go from there and do the fix in reverse.

    As for Money Plus, only one value needed to be changed for it to work for me, and IE 11 still works fine.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    kedwards138 (2015-08-26)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    See if you have a System Restore point you can use. What do you mean by "not working" ?

    If you get IE 11 working again, see this tread on getting Money to work with Windows 10:
    http://www.tenforums.com/software-ap...d-10240-a.html

    Jerry

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    kedwards138 (2015-08-26)

  6. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Also, right here in the Windows 10 Forum, Windows 10 and Microsoft Money.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    kedwards138 (2015-08-26)

  8. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Lunas, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I changed the value to 0 and it still didn't work. It was also suggested to download a patched dll which I did and put in the core part. I did make a registry backup before I did that but I don't know how to reinstall that backup. I also renamed the old mnyob99.dll to oldmnyob99.dll.
    May you be blessed today,

    Karen

  9. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Lunas, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When I bring up IE, I get the message that it is not working and has to shut down.
    May you be blessed today,

    Karen

  10. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Lunas, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I did apply that change and could bring it up but if I tried to do anything in Money, it freezes and I have to shut down the whole computer to get it off.
    May you be blessed today,

    Karen

  11. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    721
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Double click the registry backup file and it will install itself. I think your best option here, however, is to run a System Restore point that was set prior to your changes.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

    kedwards138 (2015-08-26)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •