Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unwanted Windows Telemetry (consumes CPU and bandwidth)

    An old sage with security connections brought this tid-bit to light.
    I assume its part of the developer build or having the world test out part/all of Win10
    but I do NOT like it one bit.

    Other thoughts / reasons?

    As I understand it...

    + + + + +

    Windows 10 telemetry Data
    All text typed on the keyboard is stored in temporary files, and sent (once per 30 mins) to:

    oca.telemetry.microsoft.com.nsatc.net
    pre.footprintpredict.com
    reports.wes.df.telemetry.microsoft.com


    Telemetry is sent once per 5 minutes, to:

    vortex.data.microsoft.com
    vortex-win.data.microsoft.com
    telecommand.telemetry.microsoft.com
    telecommand.telemetry.microsoft.com.nsatc.net
    oca.telemetry.microsoft.com
    oca.telemetry.microsoft.com.nsatc.net
    sqm.telemetry.microsoft.com
    sqm.telemetry.microsoft.com.nsatc.net

    typing the name of any popular movie into your local file search starts a telemetry process that indexes all media files on your computer and transmits them to:

    df.telemetry.microsoft.com
    reports.wes.df.telemetry.microsoft.com
    cs1.wpc.v0cdn.net
    vortex-sandbox.data.microsoft.com
    pre.footprintpredict.com


    When a webcam is first enabled, ~35mb of data gets immediately transmitted to:

    oca.telemetry.microsoft.com
    oca.telemetry.microsoft.com.nsatc.net
    vortex-sandbox.data.microsoft.com
    i1.services.social.microsoft.com
    i1.services.social.microsoft.com.nsatc.net


    Everything that is said into an enabled microphone is immediately transmitted to:

    oca.telemetry.microsoft.com
    oca.telemetry.microsoft.com.nsatc.net
    vortex-sandbox.data.microsoft.com
    pre.footprintpredict.com
    i1.services.social.microsoft.com
    i1.services.social.microsoft.com.nsatc.net
    telemetry.appex.bing.net
    telemetry.urs.microsoft.com
    cs1.wpc.v0cdn.net
    statsfe1.ws.microsoft.com


    If this weren't bad enough, this behavior still occurs after Cortana is fully disabled/uninstalled. It's speculated that the purpose of this function to build up a massive voice database, then tie those voices to identities, and eventually be able to identify anyone simply by picking up their voice.

    Interestingly, if Cortana is enabled, the voice is first transcribed to text, then the transcription is sent to:

    pre.footprintpredict.com
    reports.wes.df.telemetry.microsoft.com
    df.telemetry.microsoft.com


    While the initial reflex may be to block all of the above servers via HOSTS, it turns out this won't work: Microsoft has taken the care to hardcode certain IPs, meaning that there is no DNS lookup and no HOSTS consultation. However, if the above servers are blocked via HOSTS, Windows will pretend to be crippled by continuously throwing errors, while still maintaining data collection in the background. Other than an increase in errors, HOSTS blocking did not affect the volume, frequency, or rate of data being transmitted.

    + + + + + + ++ END + + + +

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you are running a build other than the July 29th release build 10240 the telemetry is part of using a preview build. I don't think you can turn it off.

    Joe

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Perhaps the NSA has made some sort of arrangement with Microsoft? They appeared to be holding out on giving the NSA access to people's stuff; but maybe there was continual pressure from the NSA, and so they are giving them this data.

    I can't imagine that Microsoft would think that they could get away with this huge invasion of people's privacy, and be open about it, unless it was for the NSA.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    See How to disable Telemetry in Windows 10:
    http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-disab...in-windows-10/

    As Joe indicated, you can't change the privacy settings given in the above article if you are running an Insider Preview version of Windows 10. I don't know if the registry changes given work for the Insider Preview.

    Jerry

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    CLiNT (2015-09-02)

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeMM View Post
    An old sage with security connections brought this tid-bit to light.
    Someone you know personally or some Czech guy?

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    djohnson (2015-08-30)

  8. #6
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    LOL, Windows 10 is a cloud based OS. Of course it will connect to the internet. Plus, depending on what version you are using, especially the Insiders Preview, there WILL be data sent to MS, because that is the purpose of an Insider's Preview. I tried to get more info from the coders at MS, but they were to busy marveling at what I had on my hard drives.

  9. #7
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeMM View Post
    df.telemetry.microsoft.com


    While the initial reflex may be to block all of the above servers via HOSTS, it turns out this won't work: Microsoft has taken the care to hardcode certain IPs, meaning that there is no DNS lookup and no HOSTS consultation. However, if the above servers are blocked via HOSTS, Windows will pretend to be crippled by continuously throwing errors, while still maintaining data collection in the background. Other than an increase in errors, HOSTS blocking did not affect the volume, frequency, or rate of data being transmitted.

    + + + + + + ++ END + + + +
    Just where do all the weird urls in your post actually lead to? The visible text is not the same as the URL and I can not help but to find that suspicious. A note about that in you post would have been appreciated.

    Thanks for the info on Host file by passing. Do you have a reference?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  10. #8
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by djohnson View Post
    I tried to get more info from the coders at MS, but they were to busy marveling at what I had on my hard drives.

    I think...

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •