Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Creating New Account and Changing Existing Account

    I got this laptop a couple of weeks ago (running Win8.1) and have been gradually moving my stuff to it. So far I've been working in an Administrator account. Yesterday, I tried to create a new Administrator account with the intention of then changing my current account to User level only and then using it for everyday work. I think that approach will make sure that my User account is the owner of everything I've done so far. That process didn't go very well so I have some questions:

    1. Can I change the name of the existing account? If so, how?

    2. How do I change an account's password? Yesterday I was never asked to enter a password for the new account I had just created! It seemed to be finished with the creation process without a password!

    3. There is an inactive User account that I did not create. Can I delete that account? How? I haven't been able to so far.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Can't anyone suggest any possible answers to any of my questions?

    Bill

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Question 1:

    http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-chang...and-windows-8/

    Question 2:

    Have you tried Control Panel -> User Accounts


    Question 3:

    What is the name of the account?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks for the reply Rui. Unfortunately, when I follow the suggested procedure for Question #1, in the Computer Management window the System Tools item does not have a "Local Users and Groups" item under it! I'll work on it some more but that stopped me when I tried the suggested procedure.

    I'll look into the other two items a little further and bring back better info. I have been concentrating on something else for several days and need to refresh my memory.

    Thanks for offering some suggestions.

    Bill

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hmmm... seems it is only available on Windows 8.1 Pro.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Well, I found a way to change it a while ago! I actually don't remember exactly what I did right now but it was very easy through the path that I tried.

    Thanks for checking up on that missing menu item.
    Bill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •