Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Check Disk

  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Check Disk

    I have an external drive that is in ex-Fat format. I tried running check disk on the drive, but it only gets as far as saying checking files and folders, and then nothing seems to happen. Is it possible to run check disk on the drive?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Open a Command prompt in admin mode. In the example, G is the drive letter of the hard drive. Substitute the correct letter.

    run: CHKDSK G: /R

    If that doesn't work, try converting to NTFS first.

    convert G: /FS:NTFS

    You should back up your files first - just in case. If you need to run CHKDSK because of a problem, its a good idea to do it anyway.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    You should always let chkdsk run to completion. The hard disk light should continue to flash madly whilst it's running.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You should always let chkdsk run to completion. The hard disk light should continue to flash madly whilst it's running.
    +1 on letting it run to completion. I have let it run overnight in times past.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Calimanco, I knew the chkdsk command, but thanks anyway.

    The computer shop where I bought the drive explained why I can't convert it to NTFS, as follows:

    "I’m afraid that cannot be done. The NAS device is a standalone computer in its own right and it’s operating system only supports Ex-Fat. The reason why they build them like this is to enable them to be compatible with a whole variety of systems and not just Windows. I understand the logic, you can have a household these days that might have a combination of PCs, Macs and several different types of tablets."

    Check disk on the drive still shows no sign of any activity, and the drive light is not flashing. Should I continue to let it run, if indeed it is running?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    You cannot run chkdsk on a NAS, so don't bother.
    You should be able to connect to the management interface on the NAS and run diags from there.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by royw View Post
    ...The NAS device is a standalone computer in its own right and it’s operating system only supports Ex-Fat...
    As PaulT says in his #6 post "You cannot run chkdsk on a NAS, so don't bother".

    Your NAS should have come with at least a user manual, and possibly a management utility for installation on your PC, on a CD. The management utility should allow you to check the HDD for errors. If not look in the user manual for info about checking the disk.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Paul and Coochin,

    I wish I had seen your replies before check disk finally completed!

    The following is an extract from the message I sent to the computer technician who sold me the drive before I saw your replies:

    "I ran check disk with the f and r parameters on the disk, and I had to let it run for some hours yesterday and then overnight before it finally completed some time this morning.

    The results are shown in the attached screenshot and I am puzzled about two things. Firstly, the size of the 117 files referred to is shown as greater than the total disk space. Secondly, the allocation units available on the disk is shown as zero.

    I would appreciate your comments on the above, and more worryingly the disk space on the drive is now shown in Computer and Disk Management as zero, and Windows keeps pointing this out. I don’t understand where the missing space has gone. Before I ran check disk there was around 3.75 Terabytes free."

    The screenshot referred to is attached.

    I do not have a user manual or an installation CD for the NAS, but will contact the manufacturer about them.

    In the meantime what can I do to recover the 3.75 Terabytes of free space that was on the drive before running check disk?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by royw; 2015-09-01 at 08:06.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    Without knowing what the NAS is I don't know what to suggest.
    What does Windows Explorer say about the space on the NAS? Right click, Properties.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    What is the make and model of the external drive?

    How is it connected?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    The NAS model is IB-NAS5520 manufactured by Raidsonic, and for what it's worth the computer tech who set it up configured it as RAID LARGE, so that Windows would recognize all the 6 TB of space on the drive, treating it as one large drive.

    Explorer and Disk Management show the space on the NAS as zero.

    Further comments would be appreciated.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    bbearren, I hadn't seen your post #10 when I posted #11.

    The NAS is connected via USB.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    I suggest you return it from whence it came and get them to fix it.

    cheers, Paul

  14. #14
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by royw View Post
    bbearren, I hadn't seen your post #10 when I posted #11.

    The NAS is connected via USB.
    Typically NAS (Network Addressed Storage) is connected via Ethernet, not USB. A USB connection makes it local/external, and that's why you could run CHKDSK on it. My NAS is connected via Ethernet, and while Explorer can see it, Disk Management cannot.

    I concur with Paul; take it back.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    I discovered that the website to download the user manual from is not the manufacturer's website but a login portal address printed on the bottom of the NAS. The manual said that to get to the disk management utility I had to login to that website with the MAC address of the NAS, said to be printed on the bottom of the NAS or on the box it came in, and the user name and password admin. I could not find the MAC address in either place, but eventually realised the server name, which is on the bottom of the NAS, and the MAC address, are one and the same, and I was then able to format the disk. Before doing so I cut and pasted all my backups of my other drives from the NAS to another external drive, then formatted the NAS disk, and then cut and pasted all the backups back to the NAS drive. The pasting took a very long time, but all the Macrium backups mounted successfully, and I have been able to perform up to date incremental backups.

    A lot of work, and needless to say I will never again run check disk on the NAS drive while it's connected via USB.

    I am still leaving the NAS drive connected via USB because if I connect it via a network cable to my router I don't know how to connect it to the network, so I can't access the drive, and if someone can tell me how to do this I would be grateful.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •