Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    How to create shortcut to Sync with Internet time?

    Right click on clock>Adjust Date/Time>Internet Time>Change settings>Update now is to many clicks. Can I just make a shortcut to the desktop? Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    jsalpha2,

    See this Experts Exchange Article.

    Scroll down to: w32tm /resync [/computer:<computer>] [/nowait] [/rediscover] [/soft]

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    I can't answer your question directly, but...

    There's an old but useful program which does the same job called Cmdtime 3 (look near the bottom of the web page).

    The default frequency of the standard Windows internet time updates is once per week. There is a registry fix to change this to whatever value (in seconds) you like
    HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Tim eProviders\NtpClient\
    Value: SpecialPollInterval
    I have 604800 on my Windows 7 box, which you will recognise as exactly a week!

    PS Note that the vBulletin software added an intrusive blank into TimeProviders...

    But I would question why you would need to have your Windows clock set so frequently. In my experience it's "pretty darn accurate"!
    Using Cmdtime3 over a period of time and saving the time differences should show this statement to be correct (unless your PC is being particularly weird...!)
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-09-06 at 14:43. Reason: Point out an error in the registry key caused by vBulletin
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Also, if time corrections are frequently needed could be the CMOS battery on the motherboard needs changing. The Operating System takes its time from the BIOS setting then updates as needed. However, if it is a Notebook/Laptop maybe during travel it's changing time zones frequently??

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I use/test many Linux distros and when I boot back to Windows there is often a 4 hour delay caused by the handling of Local Time vs UDT (Universal Date Time?).
    I'm not a member of the Experts Exchange so I can not see that article. Frowny Face

    These two tools are both overkill for my needs

    NetTime by Mark Griffiths http://www.timesynctool.com/

    Internet Time Update by Doug Knox http://www.dougknox.com/win8/utils/inetime.htm

    Just creating a desktop shortcut named Time Sync is all I am trying to do, but I can't figure out the exact command to use where it says' "Type the location of the item". Thanks

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    jsalpha2,

    I'm not a member either! You shouldn't have a problem seeing it. If you are Using FF w/NoScript you need to temporally enable the site. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    This
    Code:
    C:\Windows\System32\w32tm.exe /resync
    sort of works. Even though I set the shortcut to run as administrator, it still asks" Do you want to allow this program to make changes to your computer" every time before running. Windows Time Service Diagnostic Tool Using a clock icon from %SystemRoot%\System32\shell32.dll

    Also I found that running an update to often (like every five minutes) can anger the Internet Time Servers and possibly get you banned. So I guess I am happy with my manual solution, just wish the run as administrator check box worked.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    jsalpha2,

    You can set the command up as a Scheduled Task with the Run With Highest Privledges and Run on Demand parameters then have the shortcut run the Scheduled task and viola no more UAC prompt.

    After you setup your Scheduled Task the shortcut should look like this:

    C:\Windows\System32\schtasks.exe /run /TN "Name of your Task here"

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    jsalpha2,

    Actually, you don't even need the shortcut if you set the scheduled task to run at LogOn:
    XPSchTask.JPG
    I've tested this on my XP Virtual Box setup and it works for me. YMMV!

    HTH

    OOPS! Got your thread mixed with another you're using W7 now XP. However, you can still make a scheduled task with the command line above and set it to run at LogOn. The screen will just be a little different.
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-09-06 at 22:17.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    jsalpha2,

    I'm not a member either! You shouldn't have a problem seeing it. If you are Using FF w/NoScript you need to temporally enable the site. HTH
    untitled.JPG
    ??
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    I just retried the link and now I get the same thing as you posted

    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-09-07 at 09:25.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    ?
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    420
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    jsalpha2
    For several years I used a program from the United States National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) called "nistime32bit.exe". It is still free to download from NIST. You can read more about NISTime32 here: http://www.nist.gov/pml/div688/grp40/its.cfm
    I've used it under Windows 10 and it runs on older Windows computers, too. If any of you programmers want to write your own time update software I'd suggest visiting the NIST site here for relavant information (or investigate your own country's equivalent service and documentation).
    This program may be a bit long in the tooth but it still works. After you place the file somewhere you can right-click it and choose to create a shortcut.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •