Banned
    Thanks

How to repair large .pst files?

Hello,

I have been using Outlook for the past 4 years, my outlook pst files size is too large. Suddenly i shut-down my system without closing outlook and when i reopen my system i got my pst files corrupted.

How can i repair large pst files?

Thanks
    How large are your PST files?

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Because you shut down without closing outlook, it is wrong to assume that the corruption is because the pst is too big. There is a tiny program (I don't know the name) to repair corrupt psts, but I can't vouch for it having never used it.

If the email is stored on a server for you for a certain period by your ISP, for example, then you might restore the last-saved pst file from a backup and bring things up-to-date online (depending on whether or not size was the straw that broke the camel's back) by downloading again. If downloads did create an excess, then restore the old pst file from backup, but not to the same location. You might give it a new name while you are at it, to remind yourself of its importance (and the importance of backups).

If you aren't archiving (and purging spam and such things), then you might read up on that for future reference.
    Last edited by dogberry; 2015-09-11 at 19:25.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    The repair program is called scanpst.exe, and it should be in the same folder with the Outlook program. Instructions are at https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/272227. It can fix many -- but not all -- problems in PST files.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks