Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks

Updated Win10 now shows "No bootable device" every power up

I upgraded my computer win 7 64 bit, 8 gigs ram, amd fx (tm)- 6300 core processor 3.5 ghz, Win 10.

At first everything fine except it did not recognize my ASUS DRW 24B1ST dvd drive

I decided to to a windows update to see it that would help.

After update the dvd player works but now I have to use my win 7 disc to get the computer to run. I get this message when I power on- "No bootable device press any key to go back" so I insert my win 7 disc hit enter and win 10 powers on (as soon as it starts to power up I remove the disc (not sure if it would try to reload win7).

Will not be able to check this post until a few hours later today. Thank you for any help.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    What is the device boot order in your BIOS?

Joe

Lounger
    Thanks
    I should have told you that I am not experienced in registry or bios. Would there be a shortcut keystroke to hit during startup? Thank you.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    In Win 7 it's usually done by tapping F2 as you switch on but you seem to be twixt and between, but you could give that a try.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Been having a dig around for your problem and have found http://wind8apps.com/no-boot-device-available/

If you didn't create Win 10 bootable media, part of this lengthy article will walk you through. http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/softw...ate-boot-media

Lounger
    Thanks
    Sorry just getting back. Made the boot disc and backed up files overnight. Will try later when I get home from work. Thanks.
    Could not get into the reg or bios by hitting f2 or f10.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    ...it's usually done by tapping F2 as you switch on...
    Maybe. Could otherwise be "Esc" or F10 (many HP models), F12 (Gigabyte), or "Delete".