Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Desktop Win 8.1 Pro 64 passes Memory Diagnostics, but...

    Going to the "Modern" screen and doing any search (e.g. "Memo") returns the Windows Memory Diagnostic message box (attached) telling me to restart and check for memory problems. I've done that twice with no errors found. Could this be an Indexing or Search issue?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Win 10 Pro 64bit on Dell XPS12 w/ Intel Core I5, 256gb mSATA, 4gb RAM. Also self-built Asus Z97 Desktop PC, Core I3, Kingston 96gb SSD, Toshiba 128 SSD, 8gb Corsair DDR4 1600, CM 692II Case, Radeon R7 250X, Samsung 23" Mon w/HDTV tuner.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Something else just happened

    Adding to my own post, I went to Event Viewer and found these errors, attached. The Device error relates to there being no printers lists under Devices and Printers - there were many 2 hours ago.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Win 10 Pro 64bit on Dell XPS12 w/ Intel Core I5, 256gb mSATA, 4gb RAM. Also self-built Asus Z97 Desktop PC, Core I3, Kingston 96gb SSD, Toshiba 128 SSD, 8gb Corsair DDR4 1600, CM 692II Case, Radeon R7 250X, Samsung 23" Mon w/HDTV tuner.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    A good first step would be to run chkdsk /R on system disk from admin command prompt a reboot will be needed.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradenton, FL
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Chkdsk /f corrected a few things on my desktop pc but search error remains. Before using my laptop to send this reply, I did a search with it and got the same error requiring use of memory diagnostic. It uses Win 10 Pro. So, this cannot be hardware-based or even Win OS-based, unless there is a Win Update common to both. It may be an infected and synced data file across both PC's, or a program running on both. This is getting more serious.
    Win 10 Pro 64bit on Dell XPS12 w/ Intel Core I5, 256gb mSATA, 4gb RAM. Also self-built Asus Z97 Desktop PC, Core I3, Kingston 96gb SSD, Toshiba 128 SSD, 8gb Corsair DDR4 1600, CM 692II Case, Radeon R7 250X, Samsung 23" Mon w/HDTV tuner.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    If you visited the same bad site in both ,,, Maybe time for AV/Malware scans. ALSO MAYBE TIME FOR MORE EXPERIENCED ADVICE. I am still not too versed in W8 and syncing is something i don't do.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    This could be related to the ACPI error which is BIOS related and checking the vendor support site for a BIOS update may be worth doing.

    ACPI errors can occur with a change of OS which may have been brought about by the upgrade to Win 10.

    In Device Manager/View/Show hidden devices do you have any yellow alerts or Unknown Device showing ?

    Can you expand the ACPI warning for more details.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-09-23 at 04:44.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •