Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    DISM says "the source files could not be found"

    I'm trying to run Dism /Online /Cleanup ......but I'm getting told "the source files could not be found"(screen shot 2)
    When I run Dism/.............Scanhealth it says "the component store is repairable" (screenshot 1)
    Also no luck with sfc /scannow as it says "could not repair.
    I guess I am asking what "the source files could not be found" means. I'm running WIN 10 on a laptop which has been shutting down on its own and last night after shutting down it gave me a blue screen on start up and I got it going again by the Restore Point option. Seems OK now but its still acting strange. I thought a recent reset (refresh)had it good. Thanks Pete.scanhealth.pngrestorehealh.png
    Last edited by KIWIpeteW; 2015-09-24 at 02:33.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    You might find this M$ support page helpful "Fix Windows corruption errors by using the DISM or System Update Readiness tool" at https://support.microsoft.com/en-au/kb/947821

    DISM in Win10 should be much the same as in Win8.1.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2015-09-24)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    If it happens again, run a sfc /scannow to see what it reports.

    This could fix any corruption so running another /restorehealth cmd after should come up clean.

    If the BSOD created a memory dump file, use BlueScreenView to see if it finds one and analyses it for you.

    http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-09-24 at 04:00.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2015-09-24)

  6. #4
    Star Lounger Steve1209's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Not sure I understand the source thing, where exactly is MY source???

  7. #5
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Not sure I understand the source thing, where exactly is MY source???


    It's says "THE source files could not be found" and I also don't get it.

  8. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    To get help with the DISM command type (in an admin-level command prompt window):

    DISM /?
    (enter)

    If you need help with a particular switch for the command then type something like:

    dism /online /?
    (enter)

    to see what options are available.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    721
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    The Source is Microsoft. DISM is trying to download a healthy image of the Component Store via Windows Update, which it needs to replace the corrupted files in the Store. Its failing, suggesting that Windows Update service (wuauserv) is not running.
    Before typing the DISM command make sure the wuauserv is running by typing this command:

    net start wuauserv
    Last edited by Calimanco; 2015-09-25 at 06:55.

  10. #8
    Star Lounger Steve1209's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    OK I did the net start wuauserv and it said started, ran the DISM command again and still says source files could not be found. Again, I still don't understand what command I should use to point to some source file on my WIN 10 system. I read this DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /Source:C:\RepairSource\Windows /LimitAccess
    Note Replace the C:\RepairSource\Windows placeholder with the location of your repair source. For more information about using the DISM tool to repair Windows, reference

    What is the location of my repair source???

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    There's a section in this article which deals with when Dism cannot find the source files and if you have to mount them, then I would think their location would be C: although I've seen it reported that this cmd still failed to find the files.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...c-695b60477a93

    EDIT - A bit more http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/7...-10-image.html
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-09-25 at 07:49.

  12. #10
    Star Lounger Steve1209's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    ran this command from command prompt (admin) Dism /Image:C:\offline /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /Source:c:\test\mount\windows and it fails unable to access the image

  13. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    721
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Try this. Copy and paste the following:-

    net stop wuauserv

    cd %systemroot%\SoftwareDistribution

    ren Download Download.old

    net start wuauserv

    net stop bits

    net start bits

    net stop cryptsvc

    cd %systemroot%\system32

    ren catroot2 catroot2old

    net start cryptsvc

  14. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    That command is telling Windows to look in c:\test\mount\windows for the image files. If you have not put the files in there manually it will fail.
    You need to specify/download the image files - I don't know how to do this.

    cheers, Paul

  15. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    Did you try the one in my first linked article -

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /source:WIM:X:\Sources\Install.wim:1 /LimitAccess

    Where X is the drive letter where the ISO is located.

  16. #14
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Which ISO?

    cheers, Paul

  17. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Which ISO?

    cheers, Paul
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...c-695b60477a93

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •