Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts

    Lightbulb A nice way to view (ALL) Applications

    I have given this to Redmond, @ their request & to the Microsoft Store, here in Calgary. I have used it for years, not only w/ Windows 10 & give it to all my friends, colleagues & clients; all like it a lot! It is very likely anyone would like it. It saves open Start & going through the All Applications there. It, also, shows ALL items w/out having anything inside folders. It gives a window that 'lives' on the Taskbar and its 'display' can be User selected for View & Sort.

    Using this line %windir%\explorer.exe shell:::{4234d49b-0245-4df3-b780-3893943456e1}

    Rt Clk Desktop > New > Shortcut. Put the line in Location, hit Next. Change (name) explorer.exe to Applications, hit Finish. Now, click on the resultant icon, get rid of the Nav Tree, select the desired View & Sort and MINIMISE, do not close (X). If closed, have to redo it. Has to be redone, via the Desktop icon, after a Restart.
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2015-09-24 at 13:02.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,383
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    FYI getting a 'no program asociated..." message.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    NB: Credit to Dave for this one.
    Who's Dave?

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    FYI getting a 'no program associated..." message.
    Same thing here. Does not work. No program associated..

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    FYI getting a 'no program associated..." message.
    Same thing here. Does not work. No program associated..

    I remember asking you about this in another post awhile back....

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Works fine for me. I even changed the icon for it to one in %windir%\explorer.exe .
    AllApps.png

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Don't know where anyone is getting "No program associated". Cannot replicate same. Works just fine upon testing.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If you are getting "No program associated" most likely you did not click NEXT after pasting the command in the Location line. Click Next then you can change the name on the next screen to whatever you want.

    Joe

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Cool, works for me. But what do you mean "get rid of the nav tree".
    Last edited by KIWIpeteW; 2015-09-27 at 01:44.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    Don't know where anyone is getting "No program associated". Cannot replicate same. Works just fine upon testing.
    Just for kicks I tried it on Win7 and did get the message, kinda figured that would happen.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,764
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KIWIpeteW View Post
    Cool, works for me. But what do you mean "get rid of the nav tree".
    The left pane in Explorer, the Navigation Pane. Click View, then the dropdown by the Navigation Pane, uncheck the boxes, and you'll get just a single pane.

    Not particularly useful for me; I've got too much stuff. I like folders and a Windows 7 style menu, but that's just me.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2015-09-27)

  13. #12
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,383
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    FYI still not working in W7U

    oh well not a problem I hope although Drew sat=ys he has been using it for years, maybe in W8 and not 7
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  14. #13
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    The left pane in Explorer, the Navigation Pane. Click View, then the dropdown by the Navigation Pane, uncheck the boxes, and you'll get just a single pane.

    Not particularly useful for me; I've got too much stuff. I like folders and a Windows 7 style menu, but that's just me.
    Thanks,worked it out. For me it was Organise/Layout/Uncheck Navigation Pane. Yes it's much better this way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •