Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcazzle, UK
    Posts
    2,832
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 484 Times in 461 Posts

    Running Excel2016 and other Excel versions on same computer

    Hi all

    I just wanted to let you know that you can run Excel2016 alongside other versions of Excel on the same computer, see snapshot image below:
    rz-excels-1.PNG

    Although most Users won't need this, for some of us it is useful to run and test stuff with specific versions of Excel.
    On one of my systems, after installing Excel2016, it replaced Excel2013.
    I guess I would need to use some virtual PC if I wanted Excel2013 available on that particular computer too.

    Microsoft does not recommend installing more than one version of Excel (or Office) on a computer.
    Most users don't get the option if they are using computers at work.

    zeddy

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    You can run 2016 and 2013 together only they are not both Click to Run. You need an MSI install for at least one of them.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to rory For This Useful Post:

    zeddy (2015-10-07)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Only problem I had was trying to install the 64-bit version of Office 2010 [first version available as either 32-bit or 64-bit] along with Office 2003, mostly wanted to keep FrontPage 2003. Office 2010 didn't like it so got rid of 2003 applications and since my Domain Host wanted to get away from supporting FrontPage extensions it was a good time to go with Microsoft Expression Web for HTML editing.

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcazzle, UK
    Posts
    2,832
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 484 Times in 461 Posts
    Hi rory

    ..thanks for clearing that up.

    zeddy

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    Only problem I had was trying to install the 64-bit version of Office 2010 [first version available as either 32-bit or 64-bit] along with Office 2003, mostly wanted to keep FrontPage 2003. Office 2010 didn't like it so got rid of 2003 applications and since my Domain Host wanted to get away from supporting FrontPage extensions it was a good time to go with Microsoft Expression Web for HTML editing.
    If you want to run 64 bit and 32bit versions, you have to install the 64 bit first and then the 32 bit. I wouldn't recommend it though.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •