Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Program transfer from Vista to Windows 10

    I just purchased a new Dell laptop with Windows 10 installed. I have a previous Dell laptop with Windows Vista. With the old computer I used Macrium Reflect program to image my hard drive onto an external 1 Tb, USB hard drive.

    I have several programs i.e. Microsoft Office Suites 2003, 2007, and 2010 that I hope I can transfer onto my new laptop. I need all three since I teach these versions of Excel, Word, PowerPoint, etc.

    Is this something that can be done and how would I accomplish the task.

    Thanks in advance
    Richard Spring

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Noticed a Sticky question after I posted.

    " Free data transfer progam for Windows 10 machines

    Microsoft has partnered with Laplink to bring PCmover Express."

    Will this program accomplish the Office program transfers?
    Richard Spring

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Only if it also includes the required cable, either a special USB cable or a Cross-over Ethernet cable to connect the two computers. Or there may be instructions for using other methods. The only time I used Laplink was back in DOS/Win3.x days. I do have 2 boxed copies I got in bundles but have never been used.

    The main thing about Windows-based programs such as Office is they work best when installed from disc or a downloaded file, have to get Start menu items created, files copied to the HDD in Program Files or Program Files (x86), support files copied to the proper place in Windows and Registry entries made so Windows know how to run the program/s. All the preceding can be done manually but quite time-consuming and if any one thing is missed the program still may not run.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Apparently Office 2003 is not supported in Window 10.
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...=1#post1024754

    You could load an older Windows in a VM on your W10 box.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    721
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    I have Office XP installed on W10 and it works OK. Other users have reported a few minor glitches in some of the modules however. It predates 2003, so that should work also. Its a case of try it and see. You would need to install from the original CDs and that may have its own problems which will need some technical knowledge to overcome. A VM is probably the best option.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Rs, hello.
    I have here close to 10 machines running W-10 like no tomorrow. I have loaded from their own CDs a few oldies, no Laplink. I use Office 2000, all of it, it runs true, I also have PaintShop 6, a 1998 version of Larousse French dictionary, also PF2000, a banking app, Acrobat 5 too, all run good. No need for any aerobatics here, not even a VM.
    W-10 accepted them all without a hiccup. Load them from CD !
    All best wishes. Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-10-05 at 07:45.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 650 Times in 573 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RSpring View Post
    Noticed a Sticky question after I posted.

    " Free data transfer progam for Windows 10 machines

    Microsoft has partnered with Laplink to bring PCmover Express."

    Will this program accomplish the Office program transfers?
    No. "The free data transfer will not migrate your apps."


    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    Only if it also includes the required cable, either a special USB cable or a Cross-over Ethernet cable to connect the two computers. Or there may be instructions for using other methods. The only time I used Laplink was back in DOS/Win3.x days. I do have 2 boxed copies I got in bundles but have never been used.
    The current free version uses cloud not cable.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    FYI Office '97 was running great on an early W10TP!

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to all for the info. I have the original disks, however the new laptop does not have a DVD player. (Another way computer companies are cutting costs). Yes, I can purchase an USB external DVD player, but was hoping to avoid the extra expense or additional piece of hardware.
    I was hoping my image on my external hard drive could be downloaded via USB cable.
    Richard Spring

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    If you are just trying to install Office you could try copying the files right to the USB drive. Blank might be best. Let us know how it works.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •